Friday Stuff


Not much to say today. I figure I’ll touch a few topics and then buzz out and leave you to your weekend. So…

  • Next week, on this blog and my fiction blog both, I’ll be doing a how-to series on publishing eBooks for Amazon and Smashwords. I’m going to cover every aspect of the process but won’t dive too deep in any one thing. I’ll assume you already know how to use things like Word or OpenOffice Writer, the only two packages I’ll cover (one paid, one free). From there I’ll walk through the entire process and share how I did it and use a full post for each of those aspects, so they’ll be clear and give you all time to link, copy, share, whatever you want. Or ignore. Fair warning: this is what I’m doing on both blogs for a while, so if you get tired of reading it just skip me from your normal rotation for a while.
  • Bryce, if you want to have this information on your site too, let me know; maybe I can email it to you or something if you’re interested.
  • As far as the sales aspect of epublishing goes, I haven’t made much money yet. But ALL of the money I have made is money I would NOT have made if I didn’t do this. So I’m glad I did it.
  • I may never make it to J. A. Konrath or Stephen King status on Kindle, but if you’re not opposed to letting some friends know about the ebook, I’d appreciate it.
  • Marketing is tough and I haven’t a clue how to do it. If any of you are marketing people or have any suggestions, feel free to let me know. 🙂
  • If anyone knows how to do a blog tour or is interested in having me share my experiences on their site (stop laughing! it could happen!), let me know. Thanks. 🙂
  • No plans for the weekend except to work on the Slurp. I’ve broken ground but haven’t made great progress. I have to get some traction on that and get it moving. When I do I’m sure it’s going to go much faster.

That’s it for me! I’m out. Have a great weekend y’all. 🙂

-JDT-

©DarcKnyt All rights reserved

A Fine Cast of Characters on Amazon US (Kindle version)
A Fine Cast of Characters on Amazon UK (Kindle version)
A Fine Cast of Characters on Smashwords (non-Kindle versions)

10 thoughts on “Friday Stuff

  1. Passed the information on to my human who was very interested. He says he’ll also be very interested in reading your article next week! Marketing is tricky. Knowing your true target is the key.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    Thank you Sandy, and please thank your human for me too. 🙂 I’m glad he’ll be along for next week’s ride. 🙂

  2. I don’t have a digital book reader. I guess I will have to wait for the books on tape version of your book. Hopefully you can get Bob Dylan to do the reading. His inability to pronounce consonants and the weird inflections he employs makes everything he says funny to me.

    Well, if you don’t mind reading on your computer or printing it out, you can download a PDF or RTF copy from Smashwords.com and read it on paper or your computer. Your choice. 🙂 Or I can just email you one. 😉

  3. Hey Dane,
    I highly recommend getting in touch with Cheryl Malandrinos. I interviewed her on my blog, (check the Featured Authors link.) She specializes in blog tours and is just an all around cool person. There are a zillion links in the interview about blog tours, etc.

    Does this person expect to be contacted by complete and total strangers? Is it okay to drop her an email out of the blue? I’m not a weirdo but how does SHE know that? Know what I mean?

    When you get it figured out, I’ll be happy to interview you on my blog too. Just let me know what works for you.

    -V

    Thank you V. R.! I really appreciate that!

  4. I don’t know if this is possible but giving away a certain number of downloads to bookbloggers might help. Try Lisa Munley at TLC Book Tours perhaps, or simply offer a copy for review to bloggers whose traffic you know dovetails with your genre.

    As I understand from Konrath, you are your own footsoldier as far as drumming up buzz goes. Offer to guest post. Give the book away to those you know will write about – even if they have a different audience themselves or a small one because the more times the title and you get linked, the more “visible” you are in terms of search engines.

    I think that when it comes to promotion being shameless and “cold-inquiries” are probably the norm. I receive emails or comments a lot from authors asking me to read and review, I don’t always have time though but I have accepted here and there.

    You have nothing to lose really and as you’ve pointed out, anything you make by sales is better than the zero you’d make otherwise.

    Sound advice, Annie, and yes, Konrath — and anyone else for that matter — will tell you you’re on your own promotion-wise. Giving away review copies sounds okay to me. I’ll give that a shot and see what it drums up. Thank you for stopping by and sounding off, and hey — if you’re interested in reviewing I can send you a complimentary copy. 😉

  5. Very, very cool! I very much look forward to that post! Also, you’re very welcome to appear on my blog for a guest spot if you’d like. You can drop me an email at kimberly[dot]anneloomis[at]gmail[dot]com if you’re interested. 🙂

    Wow, thanks Kimberly! AWESOME! I’ll drop you an email sometime next week (I have to make serious progress on my non-fiction book this weekend or I’d do it right away)! Fantastic!! Would you also be interested in reviewing the book? Even if you don’t have a Kindle, I can provide a copy to you electronically. Let me know! You can reach me through this blog’s contact page. 🙂

  6. One. It is super awesome you’ve leapt in the publishing fray.

    Thanks, Marta! I don’t know that I won’t try the gatekeeper, traditional route if I finish something I think is worth reading and publishing, but this has been BIG fun so far. 🙂

    Two. I will buy a copy after Sept. 15th. (1st regular decent paycheck. Cheap as your book is, I’m still feeling very pinched right now. And yes, I know I don’t have to buy it, but if I can’t support a fellow struggling writer, well, that isn’t worth thinking about. blah, blah, blah)

    I know it’s all blah-blah, but you really don’t have to do that. I so appreciate how supportive you are, but imagine how I’d feel if for some reason I couldn’t return the favor? No, let me me give you a review copy so you can either write me a review on the Kindle store or do one on your blog if you’re so inclined. 🙂

    Three. Your book is tagged horror. I don’t read horror. So I may peak at your book. But if I’m going to spread the word about your book, I want to know what I’m talking about.

    I agree, and if you can’t read it, don’t review it; no argument here. But I’d bet you’re expecting gore and guts and such, and I have nothing like that in the entirety of the book. Promise. “Horror” is the genre because that’s the feeling I hope to stir, not because I went all gross-out on ya. 🙂

    Four. I enjoyed this book, “How to Become a Famous Writer Before You’re Dead.”
    http://www.amazon.com/Become-Famous-Writer-Before-Youre/dp/030734648X
    I may get it back out tomorrow and refresh my memory since I’m not dead yet.

    Good idea! I have a good feeling you will be famous before you’re dead. 🙂

    Five. Enjoy the long weekend.

    Thanks! I’m working on the Slurp through it though. 😉

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

