Wednesday, and…


It’s Wednesday, and I’m behind the 8-ball on my stupid STUPID SRLP.

Not that I mind the slurping, really. I don’t. But I can’t figure how to get my BACK to cooperate long enough for me to be productive consistently on this thing. I procrastinate like hell and it’s probably, I now realize, because I dread having to go sit in those chairs and do the writing when my freakin’ back hurts so much.

I have to find a solution to this post-haste. It might be too late, though. Well, not really too late, but I’m going to have to bust hump to make my deadline now.

.

.

Did you like my whine? I did. And I was even able to find an excuse for why I won’t make my deadline. Nifty, eh? In all seriousness, though, my back IS a huge problem when writing. If I had a second laptop I’d use that and do the writing flat on my back. I don’t. *Sigh* Someday.

Well, back to work then.

Have a good one.

-JDT-

©DarcKnyt All rights reserved

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Tool

Bookmark and Share
Check out my latest book, available for download!
A Fine Cast of Characters on Amazon US (Kindle version)
A Fine Cast of Characters on Amazon UK (Kindle version)
A Fine Cast of Characters on Smashwords (non-Kindle versions)
7 thoughts on “Wednesday, and…

  1. Just got past a flare up of my back problem and totally relate/sympathize. Cranio-sacral really does work, even if it took a couple sessions to get the nerve pain to settle out and feel realigned. So much more gentle than chiropractic. Hope it gets better for you!

    I believe you, Kimberly, truly I do. I just can’t afford to see either a massage therapist OR a chiropractor right now. When I can though I’m SOOOOO all over this! Thanks for the well-wishes too! 🙂

  2. Good luck with the work! We know you can do it!

    Thanks, Bob! I really appreciate that, bud. It means a lot to know you guys are out there rooting for me. 🙂

  3. It’s not an excuse if it’s true. When I was having my terrible back problems during Nanowrimo ’07, the only thing that helped was spending several hours in the stinky recliner. I think it’s because it supported my back just right. If you support your back while you’re on the sofa, maybe your back will be rested enough to sit in the computer chair. Sorry you’re in pain. 😦

    Oh, I’d KILL someone for a good recliner right about now. I bet that helped; and with a laptop to go with it? I’d never LEAVE the recliner. It’s not helping that our bed sucks and I don’t have $3K for a new one. Still, I’ll try doing what you say and see if a lumbar support pillow on the couch helps. Thanks, hon. I appreciate the sympathy. 🙂

  4. Hot shower and stretch exercises.

    Are you propositioning me? My, SH, we hardly know each other. 😉

    On the floor:

    Pelvic tilt

    Kinky, SH. Kinky.

    One knee chest, other knee to chest, both knees to chest.

    This is easier said than done at my weight! 😉

    Slow touch toes either from sit or stand.

    Sit. God, sit.

    WALK!

    I can do this! Well … until my back gives out.

    I know how it is. Have a triple curvature of the spine. Love at you DK.

    Thank you so much, SH. We love you back. 🙂

  5. What do you do to treat your back, currently?

    Mmm… some crunches where I flatten my lower back onto the floor with my knees elevated. And … nope, that’s it. When the pain’s too much I use Ibuprofin.

    Icy-Hot? Magic bag? heating pad? Soak in the tub with Epsom salts? Stretching? Chronic pain management classes (a friend of mine goes, and says it’s incredible)? Medications? Over-the-Counter drugs?

    Are you doing the yoga?

    YES! … in my mind. Does that count? 😦

    Are there any local community colleges in your area? Specifically any that teach massage therapy? They offer services for a huge fraction of the cost of going to a massage therapy clinic – cheap for you, great instruction for them! And sometimes they offer freebies for different reasons, too.

    I can look into it, but honestly, my income’s about 1/3 what it would be if I had a job, so … *Shrug*

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

