Hey, Yellowcat, I.O.U. …


… an apology.

Last time I posted (a week ago now!), I mentioned my friend Yellowcat and said I didn’t always agree with her in my post. In context, I was talking about how she posts on her amusing blog about her customers and how they act, but I never said that in my post. And even now, trying to explain, it’s a bit jumbled, so I know I didn’t communicate what I intended.

I was complaining – okay, raving – about people on Amazon who give a book a one-star rating because they don’t like the price. Well, the author doesn’t control that, and the author is the one reflected in those reviews. The other potential buyers looking at the ratings of a book will see several one-star ratings and might be put off buying it without reading the reviews themselves.

I said, in my last post, this is akin to someone giving my friend yellowcat a bad tip because they don’t like the restaurant’s policies or prices. I added that I don’t always agree with yellowcat’s viewpoints, but I said that without making it clear that I DO agree with her, completely, on that point. She should not – neither any other food server, for that matter, unless they participate directly in setting policies for the restaurant – be punished by poor tips for things out of her control.

I will clarify now: I agree that authors should not be punished for book pricing as I agree that yellowcat and people doing her job should not be punished for restaurant policy over which they have no control.

So, Yellowcat, I apologize for sounding like a complete ass who just disagrees with you. I think highly of you and I didn’t mean to appear otherwise. We don’t always agree on the customer-server conflicts, but I have always considered you a friend and I hope I haven’t offended you with this careless statement. It was not my intent to do so. I humbly apologize and ask for your forgiveness publicly.

In other news, I’m still slurping and slurping and slurping. *Sigh* I’ll miss NaNoWriMo again – I usually do – and this year I actually have ideas I could pump through. Oh well. Like I always say, there’s always next year.

So… how was your weekend?

God bless all.

-JDT-

©DarcKnyt All rights reserved

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Tool

Bookmark and Share

Check out my latest book, available for download!
A Fine Cast of Characters on Amazon US (Kindle version)
A Fine Cast of Characters on Amazon UK (Kindle version)
A Fine Cast of Characters on Smashwords (non-Kindle versions)
8 thoughts on “Hey, Yellowcat, I.O.U. …

  1. Wait a sec. People rate books poorly based on a high price. I guess I live in a weird little world, but I expect a cheap book to suck banobo monkey balls while an expensive book should be ten times better. You get what you pay for. If its cheap, there’s probably a good reason, it sucks.

    Well, no; pricing for eBooks especially is pretty random, to tell the truth. It’s one of the problems Konrath has with the traditional publishing industry. He gets to control everything from price to cover art to title by self-pubbing ebooks.

  2. Sweet of you to clarify. Though I’m not the one to whom you’re apologizing, I understood what you meant in your original post, if it makes you feel better.

    It does, thanks. Not having heard from Yellowcat I’m sort of in limbo about what she thought though.

    I think I may actually do NaNo this year, and my idea is…a ghost story!

    Ha! I got a couple of ’em and I think I can rescue GH to do a trilogy for next Halloween!

  3. You’re such a nice guy. For the record, I agree with you on both points. BTW, if I see a one star review on Amazon, I always read it to understand WHY. I think most people do, so I wouldn’t worry too much about about that, although it is unfair.

    Well, that’s nice to know, but are most folks like you or like I’m afraid they are and will bypass a novel with a low rating without checking the reviews at all?

    I respectfully disagree with wigsf regarding price equating to quality as it relates to books. Many books are discounted after a certain shelf life–it doesn’t have anything to do with quality. I can’t tell you how many books I’ve bought from the bargain bin that were former bestsellers, or even unknown that were fabulous.

    This is particularly in reference to eBooks, which is a whole other ballgame from print books. Yes, he’s just being himself: Silly 😉

  4. I know what you mean about NaNoWriMo. I had this fantastic plan to write up enough Chapters of my book so they could just auto post during November and then I could write this book that has been burning a hole in my brain for some time now. And then all sorts of crap happened and I haven’t even posted the chapter had pretty much had done three weeks ago…

    Ah, life: What happens to us while we’re making other plans. 😉

  5. You’ll stay slightly saner by skipping NaNoWriMo. And you don’t need a special month to write a novel!

    Re: Sanity — you know, I have a very different perspective on this than most. I don’t see the NaNo police come to round up those who don’t “win”, neither award prizes to do those who do, so I take it as a “meh”. And I can do 1800 wpd on my head when I have an idea to flow with, so I’m not intimidated. But I think I like the “any Mo’ is WriMo” approach better still. 🙂

    I understood what you meant in the other post, by the way. People are nuts. I remember a customer yelling at me because she’d ordered a book and it never came in. Now, she made it absolutely clear that our store had not ordered the book. One of our competitors had ordered the book. But she wanted me to understand that she was greatly insulted by my offering to order a book for her because some idiot at some other store never called her back, and she wasn’t going to be put through that again by the likes of me.

    Hm. It does, literally, take all kinds.

  6. Huh? I’ve been away and I guess I missed something. You didn’t offend me since I didn’t see what you posted and I wouldn’t be offended anyway.

    It’s all good.

    Nice to know, thanks!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

