A Matter of Degrees


So my daughter was throwing a fit this weekend because she wants to wear shorts and short-sleeved or sleeveless shirts around. Problem is, it’s mid-Autumn in our neck of the woods and it’s been pretty cold. Not as cold as some places or even some years, but cold enough dressing like it’s August is a bad idea. She didn’t like it when I said so though, and liked it even less when I made the change a rule.

When I saw her ten minutes later she was all pouty-lipped and red-nosed. She glared at me.

“What the matter?” I barked.

“Nothing!” she barked back, with what I considered too much tone for a five year-old.

“Watch your mouth!” I stunned her with sound waves and she jumped. Then I said, more softly but with a hard edge, “Now, what’s the problem?”

“I’m just in a bad mood.”

“Oh yeah? Well, let me tell you something, Missy. When you throw a fit like this because you want to wear short sleeves and dresses in the frost it ruins my mood too!”

She stomped toward her room and I shouted after her. “I don’t want to hear your fit, either, so make it silent!”

I heard not a peep, and noticed my wife shaking up a storm. “What’s funny?”

She shook her head. “’I’m in a bad mood,’ she said. A five year old!”

“I know,” I groaned. “Give me a break. The f**king Incredible Hulk thinks I have bad moods. I’m the godd**n Jason Bourne of bad moods. These people have no idea who they’re dealing with.”

That, for some reason, struck my wife as hysterical and she guffawed in her chair.

I guess I’m funny when I have bad moods.

On the bright side, however, I’m closing in on the completion of the SLRP, which isn’t so S anymore, and then – yes, then! – I’ll get to start work on my next novel. A novel! Woo! Fiction! Woo! Par-TAY!

How’s it by you? What’d you do over the weekend?

-JDT-

 

©DarcKnyt All rights reserved

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Tool

Bookmark and Share

 

Get your copy of my books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

9 thoughts on “A Matter of Degrees

  1. Haven’t been too great over the weekend but so glad to see your book going so well, and a novel…woot!

    Aw — I’m sorry you’re not okay, Damyanti. If you need to talk, send an email. I’m all ears. Erm, eyes.

    Me, am writing like crazy to finish a collection of stories, sending out the ones I have readied, and trying to get a move organized.

    You’re moving? Where to? When? Why? Oh, I hope it’s not bad news sweetie. I hope it’s great news, actually.

    Hugs to you and the family…and not, shouldn’t shout at a 5-yr old, you’re just setting an example, I’m afraid 😀

    I know, but in my defense I don’t shout at her often. Only when she needs it. 😉

  2. What are these strange words you use…novel? Fiction? 😉 I’m stoked you’re making progress, in writing and in life.

    The reminder of Fal’s silent laughter made me lol.

    It made me lol too after I defused. It’s fun. Thanks for the support, and I can’t WAIT to write fiction again. 😀

  3. Should have let her wear the summer clothes. Teach her a good lesson. “Listen to daddy or your skin will turn blue.”

    Well, she irks me, but I DO still love her. I chose the more immediate lesson. Hope it sticks.

  4. I don’t have any kids, but I gotta say the same thing happens to me and The Pooch. Even in a crappy mood, I’ll have walked her, fed her, refreshed her water, played with her, scratched her back and behind the ears. Then I’ll make the mistake of trying to watch TV. She’ll sit there, eyes drilling into my head, these piteous little whimperings leaking from her throat. Until suddenly I snap. “What do you WANT, d*mn it?!? You think you’re the only one with needs around here?!?”

    Before I realize it, I’ve blurted an entire paragraph at her. When I finally stop for air, she squeaks again.

    I think the soundtrack of Hell must be not the screams of the tormented souls, but the whines of the vaguely dissatisfied.

    AAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA! I almost passed out laughing when I read that. AWESOME, JES. Just awesome.

  5. Rock on! Excited to hear you’ll be starting a novel.

    Thanks! I am too, actually! 🙂

    My daughter had a fit this weekend too! Let’s hear it for girls throwing fits! Yay!! Not.

    Yeah, definitely “not”. Kids … whattaya gonna do? 🙂

  6. Wow. I have to say, I have not been tempted by my T-shirts in many a month. Kids are insane sometimes!

    Well, she IS only five, and when you were five, your T’s might’ve tempted you in winter. 😉

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

