Weekly Post


Yes, friends, it’s time once again for me to regale you with tales from my life and times of excitement, intrigue and adventure. Unfortunately, I don’t live that life and so all I have to regale you with are boring stories of stuff which actually happened to an actual person in our house.

More unfortunately still, I have no such stories with which to regale you at the moment. Work was very slow last week, so I focused on trying to accomplish some of the tasks my boss left for me before went out for the rest of the year. I didn’t get them all done (he didn’t expect I would), but I got through some of them. The stickler is one where a report is generated from an ASP page (that’s Active Server Page, if you don’t know) for my boss. He wants a condensed version for customers, but I haven’t gotten all the way through the code yet. I’ll get there, I just hope he’s patient enough to wait for me to do so. That’s on my docket for NEXT week, along with taking over some of the reports he’s been putting together for clients and managers internally and externally. Fun. Pressure. I love it. (No I don’t.)

I love the company and the people, and I just have to learn my job. I made an executive decision on Thursday which I HOPE will not negatively impact the job and the functions of the system they have. I hope. I pray. Oh, Lord God do I ever pray. But it’s a built-in failure point, and I tried to find a way to solve it for a long period rather than bandaging the system every time it comes up. When the system fails, it sends all manner of things happening and opens the door for even more mistakes (all on my part, of course), so I thought addressing it over the long(er) term would be better. God knows. I’ll find out.

So, I stayed until the last of the team members left on Thursday (two hours before quittin’ time as a benny), and then I shut down, locked up and went on home. I hope there’s nothing smoldering when I get back to work tomorrow.

I’d love to tell you I’ll become more regular with blogging soon, but the fact is, I don’t know if I will/can. For one thing, I’m dog-a$$ tired when I get home. And for another, it’s time for me to address other goals I’ve had for 2011. I lost my computer back in December, I don’t have the funds for a new one (and let’s face it, Fal is going to get hers first unless we can swing ‘em both at the same time which is VERY unlikely), and that’s thrown a HUGE, sopping wet blanket on my fire for getting a novel written by year’s end. Or even a Friday Flash entry. So… no writing for me. That stings.

The ‘Net is… well, not INaccessible, but pretty close. When it IS available, I”m long asleep and on my way to the next morning. So weekends, the only days I seem to be able to catch up on much-needed rest for my aging, dilapidated body, is spent trying to recover and grocery shopping. It’s not an idea life, but this is the penalty I pay for being the way I am at the moment. 2011 will see a change in that, but it’s going to take time.

Anyway, I hope you all had a fantastic holiday season and that 2011 will be great for you. For here, it’s a time of excitement and anticipation. We can’t say why, but we’re looking forward to the new year with bated breath and expect something phenomenal to happen. Who knows? Maybe it will.

God bless and see you next time I find a connection and a keyboard. 😉

-JDT-

©DarcKnyt All rights reserved

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Tool

Bookmark and Share

 

Get your copy of my books!

Buy J Dane Tyler’s Fiction now!

6 thoughts on “Weekly Post

  1. I am glad to hear you’re enjoying your new job thus far, and I hope your executive decision pays off, and is well received. A long term fix sounds better than a Band-Aid to me!

    Well, I hope it works out. So far so good. 🙂

    Adjusting to a new routine can take some time to feel comfortable in. When I finally left working in the pharmacy, the new job I took involved severely different hours, and a crazy fast pace, it was weeks in before I didn’t fall asleep by 7 every night.

    I’ll be looking forward to my energy and biological clock adjusting to the new routine for sure! 🙂

    Keep us posted when you can 🙂 You have lots to keep you busy in the real world, I know.

    Oy, more than I can say. I’ll try to keep y’all in the loop, hon. 🙂

    All the best in the New Year

    To the three of you too! 😀 Can’t wait and I hope the pregnancy is going well.

  2. Yeah, it’s tough to find time to do anything when you’re working full-time, especially when your home tech situation is severely limited. No worries, we’ll settle for weekly updates for as long as that works for you.

    It’s that home tech sitch I hate the most. Feels like I’m still down-and-out even though we’re doing okay. I don’t knock down bank or anything, but we’re okay. Still, getting new things as needed would be nice. Thanks for sticking around here, Spark; it’s been a comfort to know some will.

  3. For someone who disappears months at a time from her blog, without reasons a hundredth as good as yours, I’m definitely not the person to complain about your blog update schedule 🙂

    LOL! Aw, thank you Damyanti. We love you too. 😉

    I wish you luck at your job, and all your techie situation resolved so you can blog more often.

    Thank you and ME TOO! 😀

    Will miss you and keep an eye out for you on FB..hugses to you and family!

    And back to you sweetie! All our best for 2011 to you!

  4. Happy New Year. Your blog will be here for when you can post. No worries. Life happens. Glad you’re working.

    Thank you Courtney, and Happy New Year to you and your family too! I wish you all success in the new year and want to tell you how great it was to see you take the self-pub (ePub only, I’d recommend) plunge! Go Amazon DTP! I can’t wait to download K&Q and check it out. 🙂

  5. I had a dream Falcon won $116 million in the lottery. If she did, please remember I’m your long lost cousin…or something like that.

    Oh, far as I know she hasn’t won it yet, but … from your Dream to God’s ear. 😉 And if she DOES win, I may have to remind her that I’m her HUSBAND, so don’t feel forgotten. Yet.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

