Well, now!


You know what? I like the Internet. I like it a lot.

But, I’ve been pretty limited by my technology to experience the ‘net. And my technological situation was severely (!) limited by my financial situation. So, now recently employed, things are … well … different.

Since I’ve been employed (I just completed my fifth week), I’ve been able to do things I couldn’t do before. And one of those things is to begin addressing my technological situation.

It started almost immediately. I found out I could get phones for pretty much free (actually, the carrier owes ME a little money at this point) including discounts, credits, and promos. And I found out the company I work for gets a 20% discount on services. So my wife and I each got AWESOME new phones and an upgraded service plan which allows us to both add people we care about into our list of frequently called numbers (so we don’t get dinged on minutes when a call goes to or comes from them) and get MORE minutes so we still don’t need a land line and we don’t have to fuss and worry about using our phones. We simply won’t run out of time.

Next up is the computer situation. Much more money. I didn’t think it would be possible for a while. But you know what? It was.

We had ONE, just ONE, working computer in the house. It’s ancient, by computer terms. Six years and getting near seven. It was a mistake and insufficient at the time. Now? Well, it’s rather like a reliable old car. It’s not perfect, and it’s not luxurious, and it’s not pretty. But it’s working and it gets online when the old little PCMCIA card can find the signal.

But I bought a computer. It was inexpensive; about half what I paid for that old boat anchor in the other room, which is chugging away faithfully. But it’s the best computer I’ve ever owned and it’s …. well, it’s amazing.

I can’t say how long the gravy train will last, because I’m a little nervous about what I’m supposed to be doing. But I have a computer that can handle the tools I need to use to get myself up to speed, and I can even watch videos online. I can.

I’m still sharing with my precious and ever patient wife. In the daytime hours, she’ll be using it. But at night, it’s mostly going to be mine for a month. By then, she’ll have one of her own. I believe she’ll like it.

I know I am.

Next up? Hm. Let’s see where this goes before I decide that.

How’s things by you?

-JDT-

13 thoughts on “Well, now!

  1. As a long-time tech guy, you do know (er, don’t you?) that even after Falc gets her own, you’ll still need to hang onto the boat anchor, as long as it still works??? Because the second you get rid of it, “things” will start happening to the two new ones. 🙂

    Oh yes. Oh, most definitely yes. 🙂

    (I think a copy of Murphy’s Law should be included in the fine print of every computer purchase order.)

    It should be.

    The fan on The Missus’s PC starts to make these horrible noises if it’s been left on long enough. I showed her that if she sprays the fan with a burst from one of those little cans of compressed air, it stops the noise for a while. I know replacing a power supply+fan shouldn’t be a big deal, but I’ve never done it and am pretty sure I’d mangle something important in the process. So a replacement is probably in the future… wherever the two lines on the graph intersect: cost of new PC vs. cumulative cost of replacement cans of air.

    LOL! Well, it was a bit more drastic for me. Dead and cost never intersect and that’s where we were. If we can manage two more of ’em we’ll be in like Flynn. 🙂

  2. Hey, this means we can chat again! Maybe even Yahoo conference call like the old days!

    Chatting! Wow, there’s a concept, huh? Now, if I can only remember how… 😉

  3. Srsly. D, you need to roll down to STL for a Guys’ weekend of debauchery and nerdery.

    At the very least, think about at least coming down and hanging out with me for Project Comiccon. Sept 17 and 18.

    (God, that seems so far away.)

    Yeah, it does. But it seems like it might be fun too. I don’t know about a guy’s debauchery weekend, but we can see how things unfold between now ‘n’ then. 🙂 I ain’t been to a comicon before. Been to a computer swap meet, but not a comicon.

  4. YAY! New shiny things!

    Definitely should keep a hold of the old computer, they’re handy, as frustrating as they can be.

    So happy the new year has started off so well for you guys! 🙂

    Oh, no plans to rid ourselves of the working computer, that’s for sure. 🙂 Thank you sweetie!

  5. I’m so glad things are going well! You and Falcon have been my bestest online buddies for a long time now and it makes my heart happy that life is good!

    Thanks, Holls! It’s not doing our hearts any harm either. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

