Face-palm moments


I really like my job. It’s very strange to me though. For the first time in my career, I’m actually responsible for stuff and am not being told I have to toss things up the chain of command. I have … uh … responsibilities. It’s friggin’ weird, I tell you. Like I told my wife the other day, I feel like I have a grown-up job for the first time in my career.

I spend my Mondays generating reports for my boss. I run a few macros, manipulate some data, make a pretty chart update, and voila! – report. I have four of those to do for two major clients who measure us by their own standards, hold our feet to the fire, and demand improvement. We provide them metrics which are more in line with real data from our side. It’s a back and forth thing, but that’s the business, I guess.

I have a few more I have to do by mid-week and of course even more month end and after. So I do a bit of reporting. I hope to get faster at that soon.

After that, I’m trying to work through the code for some ASP pages which comprise the input forms for our ATR system. It has Microsoft Access databases as a back end. This thing’s a nightmare from a support standpoint, at least as someone not involved in creating it. I’m not the most talented programmer in the universe either, so it’s tough to figure out how to decipher and update the code.

On my first project to tweak it, I couldn’t figure out how to make the stupid thing work. Then I got access to the test system (a very helpful resource), but the test system is a duplicate of the production system on another non-production server. Except… the test system’s not being updated nightly like the production system. With me so far?

So, this past week I’m hacking away at one of the pages and trying to get it to do what my boss wants it to do. (He’s awesome, by the way, a really great guy. I can only remember one person I’ve ever worked for who I enjoyed as much.) But when I ran the page, it pulled only two records of what should have been 33 from the database I queried.

WTF? O_o

Okay, so I hack some more. Same deal. Hack, slash, chop. Rework that query over and over. Same thing, or worse, NO results. Go back to the way I got two records. Groan, rip my hair out. Bang away at it again for most of the day. Nothing. Finally, I go to my boss and tell him I give up for now. For NOW. I’ll get it, I promise, but for now it’s beyond me. I tell him what I get. He asks if I’m working in the test or production system, and I tell him the test system. He says, “That tells me the databases on the test system might be out of date, not being updated nightly like the production ones.” He says it all casual and nonchalant, and I almost fainted.

He’s right. OMG. I deleted the pages I’d made, thinking they were complete failures, and I may have WASTED all day because I didn’t just move the page over to the production side and test it.

*bangbangbangbang* <— My head hitting the desk.

I dunno if I’ll ever get the hang of it, but dang it, I’m going to try.

So that’s that. How’s it by you?

-JDT-

5 thoughts on “Face-palm moments

  1. I got a rejection on BVA from a previously very interested editor. So that’s a bummer. On the bright side, this indicates that everybody’s finally getting back to work and I may get some more responses soon. I swear, pub pros only work half the year. I guess since they’re working 24/7 during that half it makes up for it…?

    If you ask them, they’re working 24/7 all the time. *eyeroll* I personally don’t know how you can do anything in that industry having to read so much and then doing sales. Yeesh. Sorry about your rejection though.

    Really happy you have a great boss, and that you’re not letting your headdesk moment get you down.

    Naturally, I do let it worry me, and of course, I have a major project coming my way and no way to do it.

  2. It sounds like you know what you’re doing overall and where you need to be. I’m sure you’ll get the hang of everything.

    Thanks, Courtney. Here’s hoping… and praying… a lot of praying…

  3. Relax, we all have those “duh” moments especially when it comes to computer stuff. I can work in Excel pretty well but Access is out of my league so props to you for being able to work in it at all.

    Glad you are enjoying your job so much.

    Thanks, Delaney. I can use the encouragement. 🙂

    • Yep. I’m kind of a computer retard.

      *Whew!* For a minute, I thought it was me. I’m so glad it’s not, since this is what I have to do for a living. DON’T SCARE ME LIKE THAT! Hahahahaa!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

