Irony


Irony, twenty-five years in the making.

On January 28, 1986, I was having a tough time in my life. I took a few moments to watch the space shuttle Challenger lift off from Cape Canaveral, Florida.

Seventy-three seconds later, the shuttle broke apart and killed all seven passengers, including Christa McAuliffe, a school teacher from Concord, New Hampshire.

The disaster, it later was revealed, was due to an O-ring which failed due to temperatures below its specifications at the time of launch. When I heard about this, I angrily cursed the company who made that tiny, seemingly inconsequential piece of equipment.

Now, I work for them.*

Irony.

-JDT-

*-The company was indemnified by the volumes and volumes of documentation they had showing this particular O-ring wouldn’t be suitable for temperatures such as those on January 28, 1986. The investigation which followed was long, thorough and detailed. You can get a decent summary here.

8 thoughts on “Irony

  1. Cool. I never really thought about the fact that there are full-grown people who weren’t born when this happened. *middle age shock* Guess it was the same way for my mom and the moon landing or JFK’s assassination.

    And for me. There’s only one of those events you listed I didn’t watch.

  2. Is it irony? Or is it weighing the pros and cons of a particular situation.

    Con
    – 25 years ago, 7 people you’ve never met died on spaceship because the company who now 25 years later pays your salary built a faulty spaceship part

    Nope, inaccurate. The part wasn’t faulty, it wasn’t supposed to be used under those conditions. Documentation proved it.

    Pro
    – You have a job in this economy.

    And that is worth a lot. πŸ™‚

  3. That is ironic.

    I wasn’t alive when that happened. As soon as the screen loaded I saw “1986” and thought “ooh! I was born in ’86!” Then saw January… and realized “oh, I guess I was just en route to being born”.

    HA! Sherri mentioned folks like you. Hope you and baby are well and happy.

    • lol folks like me

      Yes, folks like you… meaning “born last weekend”. πŸ˜‰ *hug*

      We’re doing great, thanks πŸ™‚

      Good! Glad to hear it.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

