Bogged Blog


Back in the old days – November and December – I had a list of topics I could use to blog. That list covered a lot. A broad range of things. And I can’t imagine trying to replace that list. For one thing, it was something like 80 or 100 items long. Incredible. And they were prompts. Not only had I used that list for this blog, I used it for writing too. Many a flash piece sprouted from the seeds of that list.

I miss that list.

Because of that, I’ll have to talk to you about what’s actually going on in my life, and let me tell you, that’s a boring affair. Right now I do two things: work and sleep. Sleep is probably the more interesting of the two for you, the audience. What I do at work is run around trying not to look too stupid. Or do anything like that either.

So, here I am. I’m sitting at work and my phone lets me know – ‘cause it’s smart, don’tcha know – that I have a message. I check it. It’s in Gmail. So I check it, on my phone. ‘Cause my phone’s smart. And the Gmail thing isn’t allowed at work, don’tcha know.

The message, however, is from my agent. Yes, I have an agent. A literary agent. He tells me when I have the possibility to do some more non-fiction work. Now, in the last two years, I’ve written almost no fiction. I’ve managed to cobble together little flash pieces and snippets and novellas and published ‘em, don’tcha know, but I don’t have any serious fiction written. Not since… oh, let’s see here… 2008, I guess?

Okay, so I get this message. From my agent. He has work for me. I don’t want to be a non-fiction writer, frankly, but that’s the way life is sometimes. And I’m not going to turn down a paying gig.

The gig this time is for pretty much the same thing I did at the end of last year. (I just finished the edits for that project, by the way. And I’m waiting for the proofs from the typesetter to go over. Should be a few weeks, maybe a month? I dunno.) That is to say, a book about HTML5/CSS3.

Now, the thing is, the book I wrote is for the Brilliant series. But this one, this is for the In Simple Steps series. I have to put together a table of contents, and make a “proposal” to the publisher, but they already have me in mind for that project. There are eight that will be happening this year for them and I have been short-listed for at least one. (It could be two.)

How’s that for good news coming my way after good things came my way?

I’ll keep ya posted.

-JDT-

7 thoughts on “Bogged Blog

  1. Wow, that’s awesome! They’re actually asking for YOU, not the other way around. You got skillz, dude.

    Thanks! Now, if I can only get some FICTION publishers doing that, we’ll be all set. 😉

  2. Lucky for you that you DON’T have that list of blogging topics and prompts. It sounds like you’d only get frustrated by the lack of time to read it. 🙂

    Ha! Touché!

    And it’s awesome that I’ll have somebody to bug for advice on HTML4/CSS3 problems.

    Well… HTML5, not 4, and only if the topic is, like, kindergarten basic. Do you have kindergarten questions about CSS3 or HTML5? I’m your man. 🙂

    How weird that your workplace blocks/disallows Gmail. (Well, unless you work for Yahoo or something, ha.) That’s a first!

    Actually, it’s not for me. I’ve had it blocked by a bank too, for SEC purposes. I’m not sure why this company does, except to keep employees on point. Another interesting thing is, they want employees to promote the company with social media, portray it in a positive light, etc., but Twitter, Facebook and any other social media site is blocked. Heh. They want the free promo on YOUR time.

  3. Wow, you’re a busy man, and it looks like you’re going to get busier! When it rains, it pours. Feast or famine. Yada yada. Anyway, congratulations on getting the call! And good luck with it all.

    Thanks, Spark — that’s something I’m going to need in spades. That, and time. 😉

  4. Oooh nice that you have your agent calling. That sounds so posh – “I have an agent” – I like it.

    I hope you get at least two, or more 🙂

    Looks like I’ll get the two. I have to provide a Table of Contents (outline) to the editor and see what he decides, but with a little luck, I’ll be a go for at least two. 🙂

  5. From what I’ve heard, at work, you try not to look stupid; but while you sleep, you can’t help but look stupid.

    Really? How do you know? That’s creepy.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

