Congratulations, TitleTown!


Weekend Updates

A mad-cap ramble through my weekend.

Super Bowl XLV

Ah, the title is back in TitleTown, USA! The Green Bay Packers have won their fourth NFL Super Bowl title in team history and their NFL-record thirteenth world championship over all (going back before the merger, of course). Nice job, guys!

Here we go Steelers! HA! Thank God I won’t have to see THAT again for a while.

Having met a lot of the Packers’s fans on my new job (more people from Wisconsin at this place than I’ve ever experienced in my Midwest time), I have to say, they’re a lot classier than some of the “Massholes” Patriots fans, and pretty much ALL the Bears and Steelers fans I’ve ever encountered. No offense meant to anyone, but as football fans, Steelers fans are… not classy. Period.

So I was rooting for the Packers and for the second year in a row, the team I wanted to win, DID win. Go figure!

We’re LIVE!

Other than that, it was a pretty good weekend. I managed to get us online again for the first time in almost thirteen months (who says thirteen’s not lucky?), and I have to say, I really like the service. MOSTLY.

Interesting events: Four minutes before the end of the Super Bowl, something took the entire provider down in my area. The greater metropolitan area was down for some time and calling tech support got me a “This number is not in service” message a second before it hung up on me. I was not.a.happy.camper.

But, it came back. I want to make sure they understand having the ability to disconnect unhappy, concerned customers PAYING for this service isn’t acceptable. You know, b!tch ‘em out. When I do that, I’ll feel better.

So yes, we are back on line with an UNborrowed connection and we’re flying high and soaring long. Until the ISP goes down, of course. Heh.

Hardware Store

I also watched my wife borrow money from me (only a bit) to buy herself a brand, spanking-new computer. Her SSRLP paycheck came in! So she bought her OWN computer. Should be here in a few days. Not a laptop but comes with a built-in wireless card and BAY-BEE, it’s gonna RAWK! I can’t wait. She’s been SOOOO patient, waiting for more than 18 months for her time. Love of my life, it’s your time. Thanks for understanding. I love you.

Hm… lessee. Oh, yeah! I bought an external hard drive enclosure too. Please pray we can recover at LEAST her music and the kids’s pictures from her hard drive, which I think I cooked. 😦 But I did set her up with the SSRLP so she could buy a new one. So maybe it’s a wash. Anyway, that HDD enclosure has both a USB 2.0 port AND an eSATA port. USB 2.0 transfer speeds are UP to 480Mbps (fast). That eSATA? 3.0Gbps. That’s GIGA-bits per second. That’s REALLY FREAKIN’ FAST. So yeah… I’ll get my data off.

Ah, one last computer to replace. The boat anchor, as I call it, is going into safe keeping for a while. They don’t make ‘em like they used to, and I just can’t bring myself to get rid of that ol’ reliable dog. We may yet need her someday.

Lifting Weight… MY OWN weight

OH, I’m taking another positive step forward on my path to health and fitness, too. I’ll be starting (gentle) exercising to accelerate the so-far-not-noticeable weight loss, and start to more aggressively take back my body from Illinois. So I ordered something online for that and… we’ll see.

How was your weekend?

-JDT-

Copyright 2011 DarcKnyt, All Rights Reserved

5 thoughts on “Congratulations, TitleTown!

  1. Going after Pats fans eh? Isn’t the Mrs. a Pats fan? NICE!

    We’re BOTH Pats fans, but we’re NOT “Massholes” … doesn’t apply. 😉 Nice try though.

  2. I didn’t watch the Super Bowl. Not too into football, you see. However, I managed to hear from a great many people that the halftime show sucked and they team they rooted for lost (or won? I can’t remember now).

    I heard from ONE person, and only ONE person, regarding the halftime show. He thought it was the best one ever. I can’t think of anyway it could beat out Janet Jackson’s frontal nudity back in ’04, but then, I’m filthy like that. Just sayin’.

    Glad you got the interwebs; I would die without it, metaphorically speaking (don’t ask how that’s a metaphor either). It feels nice to be able to afford that sort of stuff, right?

    Oh yes. OH. YES. Finally.

    Hope the wife likes her new computer!

    Oh, she will. How much better is it than the one she has now? 🙂

    PS: Losing (obvious) weight takes a long time and a choice to change your lifestyle. We’re trying but so far the results haven’t been very telling. Still look fat.

    Me too. What are you doing? We’re doing Atkins and I’m starting a workout routine soon here.

  3. I am glad you are starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel, my family and I are starting to claw out way out of the dark as well. Here’s hoping we will get everything under control in time for the Mayan Apocalypse!

    Oh, I’m not Mayan, Al. My apocalypse is a good thing for me. You, not so much, but for me it’s good. 😉 Glad to know you’re doing better too.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

