New SLURPs?


I might be getting a couple of more technical book projects. I sent in the two proposed table of content (outline) things on Sunday night and now, I’m waiting for the editor to get back to me and decide if he wants ‘em or not.

If I get them both, this will make four total books I’ve written in the last… what? fourteen, sixteen months? When I stop and think about it, that’s sort of prolific. I wondered, often, how people could crank out non-fiction books the way they do. They must, I reasoned, have excellent ghost writers, and never use the same one twice so they can really hammer out these things. How else can they go from announcement to press in less than six months? I don’t care what anyone says, that stupid little Snooki can’t type that fast, and Dragon Naturally Speaking can only do so much.

But, at least in the case of these technical how-to hand-holding books, and probably for others too (such as “The Complete Idiot’s Guide” and “Dummies” series of guides), it’s really not all that hard. I don’t know what writing one in that series might be like, but the ones I write are very, very basic. Not a lot of technical know-how required, and let’s face it, the Internet is very smart. Sometimes. So putting them together and getting all the information together so I can put a coherent, organized and logical book fit for complete novices isn’t as hard as I thought.

Still, having to do two of them maybe a bit of a challenge, especially with a full-time job in the mix. Unpredictable hours, like most other workaday folks, makes nights a dicey prospect and over the weekends I’ll have to do at least one, maybe two chapters. Every weekend. And that’s to finish in two months or so.

I’m tired and worn out just thinking about it. Lonely too. I won’t be able to hang out with my Internet buddies.

And yet… $9000 for two books ain’t hay. Y’know? That being said, it does take a while to get it. Up to 120 days sometimes, depending on what they want to do. Still, having that cash in my hot little hand is pretty cool, and so is seeing a product with my name on it and knowing that, somewhere beyond the sea, there’s a brick and mortar bookstore with my book and my name on the cover on a shelf in it. Niiiice.

-JDT-

Copyright 2011 DarcKnyt, all rights reserved

7 thoughts on “New SLURPs?

  1. Congrats on finishing yet another one!

    Thanks, bud. I’m excited to get these two. I hope they come through. Having the extra cash (and it IS extra now!) is really nice, too!

  2. It’s great you have that opportunity and that is a pretty good chunk of change. Hope you can juggle the work to get it done.

    Me too. 🙂

  3. You’ll do all right…you have the stick-to-it-iveness I don’t 🙂 Just don’t burn yourself out. Have you seen your printed books in stores? It is the most awesome feeling!

    Thanks, hon. No, there UK-only so I can’t see them. 🙂

    On another note, I’ve missed you on my blog…

    Sorry, I’ve not been commenting. But don’t think I’m not reading you though my feed reader! You’ve done excellent work. 🙂

    Sending you lots of luck and good zuzu across the seas, and here’s to more SLURPs!

    Thank you and hugs back to you!

  4. Oh boy. Be careful not to spread yourself too thin! You can always get more money later, but health, not so much.

    Oh, I don’t think writing will make me sick. I don’t THINK. 🙂 But thanks for the reminder.

  5. Dude, the Complete Idiot’s Guide to Writing a Complete Idiot’s Guide book. Lo and behold, your future lies there.

    Wow, that’s… that’s awesome! I should pitch that! Now, how do I stretch it to 400 pages?

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

