Thinking about Changing


Blahg thoughts

It might be time for me to change my blog theme again. I’ve not done that in a long time. I used to regularly change at least the header, but since I’ve been working I’ve had neither the time nor the desire to muck with that stuff. But I can make custom headers AND backgrounds for this one. Maybe I should look into it.

SSRLP

Anyway… over the weekend I got some proofs – the second round now, mind you – back from the SSRLP publisher again. Guess what? Yep, more mistakes. I found a few we missed the first time through and some brand-spanking NEW ones injected somehow. I have NO idea how though. NONE.

No word yet on the new book deal though. I sent the Editor-in-Chief my combined TOC a while back but he’s not gotten back to me. I better contact my agent to see what’s happening. I don’t have anything firm to say “go” so I haven’t, and I’m not done with this one yet.

I miss writing fiction though.

Fiction writing

Speaking of fiction…

Congratulations to Linda Cassidy Lewis of Out of My Mind on being accepted for publication! Wow! That’s awesome news. It CAN still happen, even with the gatekeeper system failing. Once in a while, someone gets it right. Congratulations Linda. Bravo!

I just want to be able to DO it again, never mind get PAID for it. I’m happy for Linda though. 🙂

Oh, and I’m thinking of picking out a few of my short stories and putting them on Amazon Kindle and Smashwords and whatever for 99 cents. I’m also considering putting my book prices down to 99 cents to see if I can attract some attention to my work. (Don’t ask why; I can’t write anything new right now.)

If you’ve got thoughts on that, let me know. Some of you already did over on Facebook. Feel free to sound off here too.

Diet and exercise

I’ve been sort of craving legumes for a little while, but we broke our diet this weekend which means I can’t have them for a few days (weeks?) yet. Oh well, it was TOTALLY worth it.

Job stuff

I’ve been intimidated for about 12 weeks by my job, and last week during a pilot of our new order control and management system I had a bomb drop in my brain as I realized my role in all this. I have no idea what to do, how to do it, or any of the essential things I should know to do what’s expected of me. Sound confusing? It does to me too. I’m praying like never before, which is a good thing, but I’m also worrying myself into an early grave, which isn’t.

Well… depending on who you ask, I guess.

That’s all, folks!

I guess I haven’t got a lot to say right now. I really wish I knew what the hell I was doing, but life is unfolding faster than I can figure it out.

Have a great week, everyone. You’re in our prayers.

-JDT-

7 thoughts on “Thinking about Changing

  1. Yeah, you gotta change this Shamrock Shake theme. With the over-commercialization of St. Patrick’s Day, I’m getting ever so sick of green. Makes me wanna blow green chunks. Everything these days looks like the Incredible Hulk took an incredible dump on everything. It’s like Shrek-poo.

    OH, if it looks like a Shamrock Shake, I’m SO changin’ it. I never even intended to match the green seasonal thing. My bad. Shrek’s cool though.

  2. Honestly, I hope you get to write more fiction and that your life becomes less overwhelming. Seems like a lot’s going on!

    A lot IS going on, hon, and thank you. But you know what? The Lord is in charge. I’m figuring He’ll find some time for me to do what I want if it’s also what HE wants. 🙂

  3. I truly believe you will get what you need for work or they wouldn’t have hired you for the position. believe in yourself dude!

    I’ll try, Delaney! Thanks for the boost! Much appreciated. 🙂

  4. A change to the blog might be nice 🙂 a change in scenery is often inspiring.

    I just can’t decide what I want. I probably should just do something with this theme rather than try finding a new one. I don’t have the time I used to.

    Sorry the editing process has given you so much headache.

    Oy! What a PITA this time around! It was AWFUL!

    I think putting your work on Kindle Amazon for .99c is a good idea, might help generate some interest, and some new readers.

    Here’s hoping for THAT too. People who will tell others are always welcome. 🙂 Thanks, hon!

  5. You should rewrite everything at work using ruby on rails. All the cool kids are doing it.

    I’d love to be that facile with code, bud. Any suggestions on getting from here to there? 😉

  6. Here’s something to keep in mind: if you’re having trouble with this job, don’t worry, because you’re probably still the person best suited to the position. Some jobs are really hard, and there isn’t anyone out there who could just waltz in and do them perfectly. Go easy on yourself!

    Oh, Spark! You always seem to know JUST what to say to make me feel better about work. Thanks!

  7. Thank you for the congrats and link. However, a correction is in order; I was “accepted” by my own publishing company. 😉 Yep, I’ve gone Indie.

    Well then, DOUBLE congratulations to you for taking a bold step on your own behalf! I’ve done that too, and I’m not sorry for the decision. 🙂

    And I know the feeling about theme changes. I just changed mine again, this time using a self-designed header and a color scheme to coordinate with my book cover.

    Good for you! I, regrettably, have no such palette to help me choose. 😉

    Good luck with your non-fiction, but I do hope you get more time for fiction soon.

    Thank you very much. So do I. I miss it so.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

