The Best Laid Plans


You know what I had planned for you today?

I planned to show you the WIP covers I made for my new book. I have a couple of them – three, actually – and wanted to get your input on which you thought was best. Or least boring, at least.

Then, I got inspired. One last finishing touch on them to make them perfect and relevant to the story. Boo-yah!

So, I launch my graphics and photography editing program and I open the first drawing. I hit FILE, and…

Nothing. I get an error. A series of errors. I can’t open it, and now the whole program’s corrupted. I shut it down, relaunch, and…

Same thing. *Sigh* So now, I have these graphics files I can’t open to repair, and I don’t have the program I created them in anymore. I have bupkes, as the kewl kidz say.

Maybe next time. Meanwhile, my all-too-considerable butt is being kicked at work and I have no idea how to right the listing ship. I need to get more time to do about a hundred things and don’t have it. Period. I don’t have it and that’s all there is to say. Oh, and I’m supposed to start the next non-fiction book, formerly known as Slurps… last week. *SIGH* Dang.

So, I guess I have a full enough plate to keep me from ranting anymore for a bit. Some of you liked it, some didn’t. I believe the future, and the better way, of publishing is ebook publishing wherein writers and readers directly connect. That’s the best way there is. And I won’t stop talking about that anytime soon. If that bugs ya, might as well stop reading my blog today. I don’t believe in the gatekeeper system, and I always had a problem with how it’s done (ask my loving wife if you don’t believe me). I won’t do it that way anymore; at least I don’t think so. Not unless there’s a change in how work is evaluated. Agents can stuff their query letters right up their literati, frankly.

So, if I don’t see you on Friday as usual, you’ll know why. Have a great day and I’ll see you when I see you … unless you see me first. 😉

-JDT-

Copyright 2011 DarcKnyt, All rights reserved

5 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans

  1. Feel better soon…and, at least you’ve made one (experimental) convert! 😀

    Hope work eases out and you can get back to blogging, and yes, ranting!

    Thanks, Damyanti. I hope I get this resolved soon too. 😦 But work is never going to lighten up, probably.

  2. I admit to feeling a little dismay to hear that your rants will be temporarily suspended. I enjoy them. But then I realised that’s just a tiny bit selfish.

    Aw, thanks Charlotte! I’m so glad you enjoy them. And don’t worry, there will be more. So much more. 🙂

    Hope you manage to catch up with all the Important Stuff soon! And thanks for finding time to visit my blog, even when you’re busy.

    Thank you. 🙂

    PS I love that cartoon. I’m pretty sure I look exactly like that when I run out of tea bags.

    That’s Jhonen Vasquez’s creation, Invader Zim. In my not-very-humble opinion, the best cartoon ever. 🙂

  3. That sounds awful. Are the files fixed yet?

    It’s not fixable. I’ll have to take another route… by the time you see this, however, I will have. 🙂

    You rant all you like. You wouldn’t be you if you didn’t.

    Somehow I can’t see NOT ranting.

  4. Ranting can be enjoyable to read, but you aren’t… offensive. Or vulgar for that matter. One blog I had been following for months, I’ve lost interest and stopping reading due to her obsessive dropping of F-Bombs. Nothing wrong with cussing, but I feel you lose a level of validity when you’re ranting when the majority of what you can muster to say is littered with profanity

    Well thank you, hon. I’m able to do a much better job cleaning up my mouth when it’s coming through my fingertips. Otherwise I’m an F-bomber to make sailors blush, sorry to say. 😦

    Junky about the graphics program. Sorry to hear it. ):

    I figured out another way. See the new banner? 😉

    eReading is the way of the future. Until they figure out how to install chips at birth, and everyone can just download all the info/stuff they need that way.

    It sure is. And I hope to be on the crest of that wave when it comes spilling money all over writers who connect with readers. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

