Random Update-y Things


So, last night I’m surfing the web, playing a bit of a game and running a virus scan. And the computer didn’t even know I was doing anything. It’s really amazing what a good computer can do.

=========================

I love my wife’s post today. Awesome. Brought a laugh from my heart and a tear to my eye. Thanks babe; I loved that story.

=========================

I’ve been thinking a lot about cars lately. Too much, actually. I know I’ll eventually need to get one — we have only the one and it can’t last forever — but we’ve been without a car note since 2004, and I just don’t relish the idea of carrying one again. Plus the insurance goes up dramatically. But still, a need can be ignored only so long.

I’m considering my options, which aren’t many, and wondering what I’ll have to choose from when it’s time to choose. Hm. I lean toward European cars, but they’re expensive to buy and maintain, though they can be very reliable. Even oil changes cost more sometimes, though. And I like Japanese cars, but I’m not looking for a simple commuter vehicle. Then there is the good ol’ American SUV, which I adore, but with gas prices in my area at a $4.25 a gallon, I don’t know if I want to go there. (NO, I’m NOT a tree-hugger, save-the-planet, don’t-guzzle-fossil-fuels, get-a-hybrid dork-ass, either.)

I like room and comfort, and having them together is nice, which sort of leaves out things like Japanese and European cars. I’m probably not able to afford new, so it has to be used.

Then again, there’s the Dodge Charger. I liked their Magnum (2005-2008, RIP), but LOML didn’t like the station wagon. Still, I’m the one driving it, so I don’t know.

Thoughts from you all?

=========================

I’m behind the deadline on my new non-fiction project, but yesterday I got the blessing of the series editor who’s “managing” me. She was impressed with how well my wife and I — mostly her, I think — put together our first chapter, and said there’s no reason to send her anymore chapters. I should just upload them to the publisher.

I can’t decide if she meant it or if she’s just blowing sunshine and telling me to hurry up and get the stuff going because they want it by mid-June (already told ’em it ain’t happening). I told the agent early July, and I won’t flex on that. The rest of it is their problem. They seem to have trouble upholding their contractual obligations, so if they give me static on this one I might just walk away. I’m itchin’ to write fiction anyway (see how that rhymes if you read it aloud?), and that would give me an excuse.

I like the money when they DO come through, though. Ahem.

=========================

Forgot to post this morning, hence this cheesy, slapped-together version on my lunch. Sorry.

See ya later this week! Be warned, I’ll probably be dancing on the grave of the gatekeeper again.

-JDT-

5 thoughts on “Random Update-y Things

  1. Aw, they stopped making the Magnum? I love those. The last two vehicles I bought were lump sum purchases, much better than having a note if you can swing it. I bought older vehicles for cash rather than buying new on loan. I’m not picky.

    I agree on buying outright, I did that with the car we have now. But something decent is going to be more than I can lump, I think. I don’t have that kind of disposable capital laying around, and by the time I do, car prices will have increased so it’s no more than a down payment anyway. 😦

  2. I know next to nothing about cars, but we have each have a Ford Focus and have had almost no problems. I mean, there’s the usual wear and tear–eventually new tires and new battery–that sort of thing. But you probably need something bigger. I hate driving a big car! Good luck with whatever you decide on.

    Well, not so much bigger, just more spacious. I guess Honda Accord or Toyota Camry or Nissan Altima size would be fine, but I don’t know how that compares to a Focus. Thanks. 🙂

  3. We tend toward Hyundai when buying new cars. They are very dependable and comfy.

    You know, I like them too. I like the newer ones especially, but they’re still $20K or about, so I’m still looking used. Maybe a nice Sonata? Thanks, Delaney!

  4. I like mini vans. Room for the dogs, comfortable seats, a few extras & reasonable gas mileage. I don’t care that I look like a soccer mom.

    My wife likes mini-vans too, but I’ve never been a fan. Plus they’re harder than hell to get warm in the winter. ‘Course, you know that, right? 🙂

    • Mine warms up right away & the newer ones have heaters in the back. I’d look into one for the room & comfort.

      Warms up right away? Really? I mean, when it’s sub-freezing or sub-zero outside, it’s going to take a long time for the engine to get warm, right? And then, longer still to circulate the cold air in the cabin. I guess I’m speaking in very literal terms here, and I learned that by having one several years ago. It was a ’98, though, so maybe they’re drastically and radically improved since then. I have no idea. But I still am not interested in one. Heh.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

