Kicked


So, a while back I mentioned I saw this really entertaining movie.

Caveat: I didn’t say “great” movie. I said “entertaining.”

Further disclaimer: I like movies in which I can suspend disbelief. As soon as you give me an animated feature (traditional or CGI), or a movie about already impossible things wherein I can get behind it (like Batman or Spider-Man, both childhood heroes), I’m in.

That being said, this movie was pretty good.

In fact, the acting made me want to give a second look at another movie featuring one of the stars.

So the movie? Kick-Ass, starring Nicholas Cage and Aaron Johnson.

Now, I’m not going to go all spoiler or anything, but I have to tell you the little girl (Chloe Grace Moretz) did a pretty amazing job. So much so, she’s got me ready to take a second look at the remake of one of my all-time favorite movies, Let the Right One In. She didn’t fill the big shoes left by the original actress in that role, IMO, but it’s worth watching again just for her. She did a fantastic job in Kick-Ass (or is that Kick Ass?). The young man seemed nerdy and likeable enough, if not believable. But then, there’s nothing believable about this movie.

I can’t tell you I enjoy superhero movies. For the most part I don’t. I haven’t seen one I really loved for more than 20 years now. Burton/Keaton’s Batman and Batman Returns were the last ones I loved. There are a lot of reasons for that, but for now suffice it to say this movie had me engrossed in the story almost from the get-go. A nerdy kid who loves comics tries to don a wet suit and become a masked vigilante. It doesn’t go as smoothly for him as it did for Spider-Man, I’ll leave it at that. But the ensuing entertainment was worth the time, and I could enjoy the movie, at least in part, because there’s no expectation of the portrayal of something like reality. The acting was good, some of the humor was even funny, and what else can I ask? Nothing I say, and so I walked away and felt like it was a worthwhile viewing experience.

I don’t know if I’d sit through it again, but I have to say I liked it a lot more than more “serious” movies I’ve seen. I’m not a fan of spoofs, but this one is fun.

If you get a chance, see it. 🙂

-JDT-

4 thoughts on “Kicked

  1. I’m not a fan of super hero movie. I didn’t even like Batman. What’s-her-name screaming like a blonde helpless bimbo ruined it for me. From what I remember. Maybe I remember wrong. It was a long time ago.

    I guess I didn’t have that issue. Blonde bimbos were a favorite of mine in those days, as I recall; second only to redheaded bimbos, or preferably, sluts.

    I think I liked the first Superman movie. But again—long time ago.

    I did too. It wasn’t a great movie and Gene Hackman, despite being a very talented actor, was a very poor choice for Lex Luthor.

    But I always give a little cheer when you post about liking a particular movie. Makes me feel that I might not object to watching that particular movie one day.

    This one’s cute. But if you don’t like superhero movies, don’t bother.

  2. Happy to hear you found a movie you enjoyed 🙂

    Kick-Ass didn’t do it for me. I was really excited to watch it, sounded like this great idea for a movie, and I’m a bit of a Nicholas Cage junky. He’s such a novelty, and I can’t help but watch. But I was let down. And honestly, the little girl bothered me. I was really turned off by her character.

    I think the actress did a great job, but the idea of a little girl being such a brutal killer is troubling and far-fetched. Because of the superhero aspect, I guess I just let it slide, as I mentioned. 🙂

  3. I watched it last summer when I was exhausted and I kept falling asleep. I watched it again about 2 weeks ago and I really enjoyed it. I, too, want to rewatch ‘Let Me In’ for the same reason. I didn’t realize the girl was Hit Girl.

    She’s much more talented an actress than I would have guessed from her role in Let Me In (which I think stunk relative to the movie it’s based on). She got my attention for sure. It’ll be interesting to watch her career. Hopefully she won’t go the way of the Lohan or Cyrus.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

