Awesomeness


Do you now how cool the company I work for is? Let me tell you how cool it is.

Yesterday, my boss poked his head into my office and said, “The shoe truck is here.”

I blinked at him. “The shoe truck?”

“Yeah. Every year, because we require people in the warehouse to wear safety shoes and you’ll need them from time to time, we have a shoe truck come around. Up to a certain dollar amount the company covers and anything over that is your personal cost. So go pick out some safety shoes.”

So, I got to go into a truck and pick out some very nifty Sketcher safety shoes with a steel toe and everything. I’ll get to have them shipped to me here because he didn’t have my size out on the truck. And then I’ll have them for when I have to work in the warehouse to assist with things like inventory or when our warehouse guy’s out sick and my boss needs help to get stuff shipped out.

That’s how cool the company I work for is. And next year, I’ll probably (maybe, but not necessarily) get to pick out another pair.

How awesome’s that?

I hope the people working here know how terrific those little perks are. I really hope so. I certainly do.

Oh, and I found out I get discounts on rental cars for personal use too. See what I mean? Awesome.

I love this company. I’ve worked for three big companies in my career — Firestone (corporate, not retail), Sony and now this one. And of them all — of them ALL — this is far and away the best one. Great salary, great boss, my own office, great perks and discounts on stuff from my cell phone bill to new car prices…even a free hat and toys for the kids the other day.

Awesomeness. Unless and until I win the lottery, I’m not leaving this without being dragged out kicking, screaming, crying and begging.

-JDT-

Copyright 2011 DarcKnyt, all rights reserved

5 thoughts on “Awesomeness

  1. DarcKnyt, you’re getting kinda sappy over free shoes. Testosterone. Get some! You’re turning into a chick.

    No way, dude. I’m all guy. I’m not jacked about shoes on sale, or shoes in general, but shoes for FREE. FREE, dude. That gets guys excited.

    • Excited over free shoes…

      Turn in your man card.

      Dude. To revoke a man-card, you have to HAVE a man card. Soon as you get yours, let me know. πŸ˜‰

  2. Good to hear that it is working out.

    Thanks, Bob. It’s been a blast so far, even if it has gotten tougher over the last few months. But there’s no end to the cool here. How are things going for you on YOUR new permanent gig?

  3. My daughter works for Lockton one of the top five companies to work for and next year for her tenth anniversary she gets to pick out a Rolex. Every employee in the company -even janitors- get a Rolex on their tenth anniversary. Pretty darn cool!

    WOW! That’s AWESOME! How generous is that? Great stuff, thanks for sharing that!

  4. All I can say is AWESOME! I’m so happy you love your new job.

    Thank you, hon. It is SOOOO nice to be somewhere where I’m WANTED and treated that way. πŸ™‚

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

