Independence Day


I sat down and watched some movies this weekend. I found some really good ones, and have to say, I’m loving this foreign film kick I’ve been on.

And do you have any idea why I sat down to watch a movie – or three, actually – this weekend? Because I can!

Why, you ask?

 

Because, dear readers, I have, at long last, finished the non-fiction project upon which I have been working since…oh, I don’t know, sometime around mid-April. But it feels like much, much longer. I’ve been writing about this basic topic for the last six months. I started back in…what, September of 2010? Yeah, sometime around then. And I had to keep going until just this past weekend. So for roughly six of the last ten months, I’ve been writing this book in one form or another.

Sunday night, late, my loving spouse uploaded the final document and images to the publisher’s FTP site.

I don’t know when I’ve been more relieved to finish a project. I feel like a huge burden’s been lifted from me. No, it’s more than that. It’s a constant, nagging pressure that’s off now. And I’ve been lightening and lightening all day long. I burst out giggling a couple of times because I could sit here, all day Monday, and play on the Internet. Chat with a friend over Facebook. Think about something, anything, other than this book. It’s finished, and until I get the revisions from the editor, I’m free and clear. The editing will go fast, I bet. I may not even look at the galley proofs. Irresponsible, I know, but I can’t tell you how sick of this topic, how sick of reworking the same subjects, I’ve become.

So I sat down on Monday and a few times over the weekend as I got closer, and I just…watched a few movies. Maybe I’ll even start a book now.

Reading, and writing.

How was your weekend?

-JDT-

4 thoughts on “Independence Day

  1. Congrats! That is fantastic! 🙂

    Well, thank you so much Spark! All the encouragement and support I got through the process really helped, and you were right there cheering me on. Thank you for being a friend.

  2. Congratulations! I’m super happy this project is done. Now you can move on to bigger and better things (like fiction). And talking to me on Facebook, because you know I’m awesome. :3

    YEAH, FICTION! I can’t wait. Of course, any more days like yesterday will be the death of me…

    • I’m still praying days like yesterday don’t happen too often for you (and especially not anytime soon). =)

      Aw, thank you doll. I appreciate the prayer and thought that goes into it. 🙂

      That way you can work on your fiction writing and be epic. Would you self publish whatever you come up with?

      Oh, epic writing would be awesome. I’m going to self-pub it ALL, baby. No gatekeepers for me!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

