The Fat Man Sings


I was pretty naughty on my diet over the last several weeks. By the time you read this, I may have gained some weight from where I was. I don’t have any real excuses, but now that it’s Friday (at least, that’s when I’m scheduling this post to go up), I can say with honesty I have likely been good on my diet all week. (Okay, maybe not.)

Used to be I had a philosophy of starting on Monday. “I’ll be good again come Monday,” I’d say, and lose the entire weekend to bad foods, drink and laziness. It’s easier to go get something to eat – or to have it brought to us, truth be told – than to cook and clean up the mess and ensure we stay within the constraints of our diet. The funny part is, we don’t really crave things too much. We’re not unhappy with how restrictive the diet can be, or any of that crap. We just get stricken with bouts of incredible lazy and because of that, we not only don’t eat right, we don’t exercise consistently either.

But we think we’ve found solutions to those things now. We think we’ve recommitted ourselves to the cause. I know at the end of last week I had to crawl through some video footage from a security camera which showed me how fat I really am. It gave me scale the way still photos can’t, and put in horrifying perspective how far gone I really am. I’ve made strides, really I have, but they’re almost insignificant compared to the steps I made getting here. It seemed to happen so fast. In the course of a few months, really, and it sometimes feels irreversible.

But our exercise DVDs are waiting for us and I have an upper-body focused one coming. I can’t wait for it to get here! When it does I’m going nuts working out. I’m going to be one of those six-days-a-week fools. I’m trying to work up to being able to do some of those hot, trendy exercise DVDs like the Insanity workout, or maybe P90X. They look so cool, don’t they? And the people in the informercials all have bodies just like I want. How can I lose?

Anyway, it’s partially because of consistency I’ve not made enough strides in the last few months. Maybe by this time next year going to a swimming pool won’t seem so embarrassing and far-fetched or laughable. But it’s a long, long row to hoe, and much hard work, sweat and tears will accompany.

What are you doing for the weekend?

-JDT-

9 thoughts on “The Fat Man Sings

  1. Good for you! Just remember, if you occasionally fall off the wagon as it were, don’t beat yourself up. Tomorrow is always new day and you can start again.

    Well, that’s true, V. R., but I have to be careful because I don’t have as many tomorrows as I used to. 😉

    Not sure what is in store for this weekend for us. No real plans…maybe the beach, maybe a movie. There’s cleaning to do, but I’ll be more than happy to opt for the beach or the movie first. 🙂

    Beach and movie sounds like a prime weekend to me. 🙂

  2. I sold my car so now the quickest way to get groceries is to ride my bike to the store. I hope it will pay off eventually. Now if I could stop buying yummy rewards….lol.

    Everyone deserves a reward for working that hard for groceries, Jaymie! How the heck do you carry ’em home?!

    • I have two wire baskets on the back and one weaved basket on the front. I can carry 3 good sized bags of groceries home. Lucky for me the uphill part is on the way there! 🙂

      LOL! Awesome. Hope the work is worth it. 🙂

  3. I have cravings. For example right now, I really want chinese food.

    Oh, we have cravings. I just meant we’re not overpowered by them. I’d love some Chinese right about now too. Have a great weekend, Bob!

  4. Gosh, your post comes when I’m trying all kinds of new dishes . . . must have meat . . . must have meat. Take heart. You’re a much greater man than I, Gunga Din. I believe that the first three letters of die-t do no appeal to me 🙂

    LOL, thanks Berna. Your delicious blog makes it tough to stay in diet mode.

  5. I can hardly blame you. You’ve been under so much stress the last few months and pushed yourself so hard… something had to give! You can’t be disciplined 100% of the time. Maybe now that your writing assignment is done and work isn’t quite so bad you’ll be able to devote your energy to your workouts.

    You’re so sweet, Spark. Thank you so much for that. I wish I could say the diet part of this post held true. Alas, I cheated again. But it’s a new week, I have one more high-stress situation to get through (for now) at work, and then maybe, just maybe, I can work on my book (novel/fiction) and RELAX, with focus on diet and exercise. Maybe. Say a prayer for me if you think of it, would you? Take care and know we’re praying for you too.

  6. It’s hard to diet. It’s hard to exercise. It’s hard to eat healthy. Simply because I am lazy, and I truly adore food. I love pretty much all things. I love to cook, and to bake. I love to cook for others, and see them enjoy my meals and treats. I love to experiment in the kitchen. It is in my nature, believer of the Zodiac or not, I believe I am a true Taurus. We love to indulge. And I certainly didn’t get this fat from not eating. (Well, hubby had a hand in that, too, I never really ate fast food until I met him, so he welcomed some bad habits into my world, and sometimes it is just too easy to grab a burger when there’s too much going on.) Best diet I ever had was college. I lived on tuna, crackers, yogurt, and copious amounts of alcohol, and spent all of my spare time from classes and work dancing my ass off, literally.

    And it’s just so easy to be lazy.

    It’s very hard to have the energy to do the things we’re supposed to do when just getting through my day is so hard. So I have to try and carve out some time to do it, a half-hour or forty minutes, and the consistency is the key. If I can do it consistently, I’ll be able to form a habit. But I need to try because I’m quickly running out of “someday” days ahead of me. My goal was to be back in a pants size I wore when I met my wife by April 2012. I don’t know if I’ll make it now though. 🙂

  7. PS – throwing out the anti-words *themself/ves* is way more difficult than I had anticipated.

    Hahaha! Next I’ll get you to abandon the ungrammatical and painful “could/would/should of” in favor of the correct “could’ve/would’ve/should’ve”! 🙂 *hug* You’re so awesome and wonderful.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

