Long, Dry Week


So, this week has sucked for me at work.

Once the network issues were resolved and I had the data restored to the databases (which, by the way, I only BELIEVE I’ve done correctly and may yet find missing stuff), I had the Conference Room Pilot for our now order management system to deal with. We’re gradually – can you say like six or eight years gradually? – rolling out a new platform which is point-and-click, to replace our mainframe software. It’s a long-term goal, and I’m to be involved in making sure the data we get for our databases and web pages is available in the new system. Is it compatible, providing the same stuff in the same places and fields, etc.

The rest of the people on my team who are involved with the new system are entering orders and testing the software. Kicking the tires. But me? Nope. I’m crawling through downloads, trying not to bother my boss about what’s happening, what’s this, where’s that come from, how do I check this or that? It’s not … well, it’s just not fun. I’ll leave it at that.

Tomorrow is the last day. I was hoping to have a lot more accomplished, but the person I’m working with isn’t as savvy as he might lead us to believe. Still, he’s better than me, because in his position I’d have sunk a long time ago.

Maybe next week I’ll have more interesting things to say. For now, I’m just hanging by my fingertips for the weekend. If I can get there, maybe I’ll get myself together and reorganized and then try it all again next week. And the week after. And the week after that. *Sigh*

I plan to write. What are you planning?

Copyright 2011 DarcKnyt, All rights reserved

3 thoughts on “Long, Dry Week

  1. TGIF…for sure.

    It couldn’t come soon enough for me, V. R.

    This weekend? Well, I done wrote some this morning, which I’m happy about. Only a paragraph, but hey, gotta start somewhere. I will do more this weekend. I will also see the Lion King in 3-D and go down to Downtown Disney and laugh at tourists who for some reason think September in Florida should be cool or cold like everywhere else. LOL

    Wow! Sounds much busier than I’d be happy with, but you know, not all of us are meant to sit home in our cocoons and rot. 🙂 Have fun!

  2. Aw, Darc. That supersucks! I just read all three of your posts for this week back-to-back. Your job is brutal! I feel for you, my friend. I hope and pray that things ease up for you soon; and hope that you will have a restful and rejuvenating weekend.

    Thank you for being sympathetic Spark. I really appreciate it. I’m hoping for a restful weekend too. Productive, but restful.

    This weekend my plans are to get a haircut and have dinner with my parents. Aside from that I’ll be puttering around the house and resting. I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

    I’ll say a prayer your health stabilizes and you can enjoy a lovely weekend with relaxation overflowing. 🙂

  3. Take this weekend to relax. Have a beer, stay in your jammies, live off toast with peanut butter, and skip on brushing your hair.

    No can do — gotta go grocery shopping, so it’ll have to be a bathe-and-be-presentable Saturday. 🙂

    This weekend? I had planned on taking Honey Bun to visit my sister in law, and mother in law, but I forgot about some jewelry orders I have to get done, and Matt’s sick 😛 So we’re staying in. I did some yard sale-ing this morning though. Found a few treasures 🙂

    Yard sales are fun! Not as many as I used to see, though. I wonder why?

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

