It Pours


Blank-PaperI haven’t written a word. Not a word.

I set out some beautiful goals for myself, and as soon as I did, the bug set in. You know the one I’m talking about – that nasty bug that took me down a couple of pegs last week. I didn’t get fully over it before my loving spouse got slammed with it too. Fortunately the kids seem to have been spared.

But it’s really annoying not to be able to do any of the things I set out to do. I come home, veg for a bit, and then have about a half hour after I work through all my Internet stuff. Bedtime, and then it’s lather, rinse, repeat. Annoying.

But, that’s life. It hits you hard when you’re not looking and comes fast and furious. Work was a doozy today. For some reason, which I still can’t explain, the nightly macro jobs didn’t run. So I had to straggle around and figure out what the heck’s going on. The failure gets easier to fix every time I do it, of course, but c’mon, I’ve been doing it a year now. I don’t have to do this too often, thank the Lord, but when I do there’s generally a spike of adrenaline and that sinking suspicion I’ll fail.

But, not being a Monday really helped. REALLY helped, and for that I’m grateful. I was able to work on the problem and get the data repopulated without having the pressure of the drumming clock on my head. I got the stock transactions figured out, the daily new and changed orders redone, and when I thought I was in the clear I found out one other routine – which did run successfully, it appeared – gave bad data. I had to blow the day’s data out of the databases and re-run them.

So, that was my day. In the end, I fixed it all, and was able to move on to other things and get those underway. I have to get a couple of other things fixed with this stupid ASP site before the end of the month, so I’m desperate to find a solution to the problem. I don’t know what the issue might be, but I know I can’t let this get away from me. Anyone out there familiar with SQL, ASP and VB? Anyone?

Today (Thursday), the MiniNess is going to the doctor, so I’m going to be out of commission for a bit, and I’m leaving work early. If I don’t see you before tonight, have a good evening and I hope we’ll have good news to report tomorrow.

-JDT-

3 thoughts on “It Pours

  1. I can relate to setting goals and having a million other things come crumbling down and stop me from even getting close to starting what I wanted to do. Getting sick on top of having so much to do is even worse, but somehow it always seems to work out in the end!

    I’m sure it will, Stephanie. Thank you so much for stopping by and saying hi. Please feel free to come back anytime. 🙂

  2. Yup, that’s life alright. I’m so glad to hear that your kids are doing OK.

    So far so good, thanks hon. 🙂

    You’ll get back on track soon. You’re probably still a little low on energy from that bug. Those things stick around until you think they’ll never leave. Then they leave.

    Hopefully it will. But you’re dead-on about the energy. Merdi!

  3. Goals are funny things. I have many, and I rarely get to them. It’s just trying to make them part of the lather, rinse, repeat cycle.

    Oh, to be able to do just that, huh? 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

