Weekend UpdaOHCRAP


ekgThis weekend, I didn’t get a lot of writing done.

Sunday brought more computer trouble with it. I had to troubleshoot what may be a hard drive problem of some sort. The boot process took probably in excess of ten minutes, if I had a clock on it. I don’t know what the issue is. I ran as many diagnostics as I could find on my computer, and only time will show (as I write this I still don’t know what the outcome is). I may have to go to the manufacturer for support before the hard drive fails.

I’ve backed up my documents to my loving spouse’s computer – she’s gracious enough to share part of her terabyte with me – but I have to dig up the registration information for all the new software I’ve purchased. Of course, this also gives me the opportunity to find out which, if any, programs created the problem in the first place.

It’s still generating heart palpitations, frankly. I get so mad when I stop and consider the drive may be failing when I’ve only had the danged thing for five months (not quite, as of this writing).

Other than that, I didn’t get much done Saturday. I made some major decisions about characters and their necessity, roles and objectives. I had to decide how characters might react in certain situations, because, unlike other writers, I don’t have characters “take over” my project and “do surprising things”. My imagination, while vivid, remains solidly in the control of my conscious and that’s that. (Many have suggested this is a problem, and that’s what’s wrong with my writing. I don’t know. I don’t really care what they say, either, but that’s another post.)

So I sat around and used the computer on Sunday night and was afraid to do anything to alter the files I’d saved to my wife’s computer in the event catastrophic failure ensued. I can’t live like that, though, and I have to do something to solve the problem.

How was your weekend?

-JDT-

Copyright 2011 DarcKnyt, All rights reserved

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

