Get a Clew


I better get one, pronto...

Do you know what a clew is?

You probably do. I didn’t, but if I were smart, I’d have other ways to occupy myself than writing down make-believe and trying to sell it, wouldn’t I?

A clew is a ball of yarn, or string.

Our modern word “clue” comes from this word. Did you know that?

A clue is a thread, a string, which leads us through a labyrinthine tangle. Clues to a mystery help us solve it. We look for clues to help us figure things out and find our way out of a confusing situation. Theseus and his lover, for instance, used a clew so he could find his way out of the Minotaur’s labyrinth. The clew was attached to him at one end and her at the other and after he killed the Minotaur, he followed the string out of the maze again, into his lover’s waiting arms. Sweet, no?

Still, having a clue/clew would mean one isn’t wandering around hoping for a miracle. You’d know how to follow the thread to solve the mystery. I, on the other hand, haven’t got a clue how to solve my problems at work. I don’t even effectively know what those problems are, completely. I know I have a certain issue, but it only came up once and I have no idea WHY it came up that way. So … no clue.

And I have another issue which I think might be related to one thing but no matter how I try to fix that one thing, it’s still broken. Fix, text, still broken. Fix, test, broken worse. Restart. Fix, text, still broken, WTF? Fix, test, still broken, no clue. None at all.

That’s been my last 10 days. I really hate life at this point.

I should get a clue, don’t you think?

Now, if I had a clue as to where I left it…

3 thoughts on “Get a Clew

  1. Good luck with the work problem.

    Ha! Thanks dolly. I made some progress today. Hoping that helps a bit. We’ll find out tomorrow! πŸ™‚

    I love word origins, makes me happy πŸ™‚ Particularly when people say funny/inappropriate words and don’t realize it (dork and bugger are two of my favourites)

    I’ll have to look those up now, but I’m almost sure I know what they really mean. I’d be interested in seeing if they have a non-slang use. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m sorry about work. Hopefully it gets better.

    And learning the origins of words is fun. I had no clue (lol) about a clew. Go figure.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

