National Sandwich Day


I had a New York Deli Style (that’s the brand name) sandwich for breakfast today, and I have to tell you, it was flat TERRIBLE. Lesson learned, because I have four more of those suckers to choke down. UGH. Gross.

But yesterday was National Sandwich Day here in America! Yes! The greatest of all foods, created by a chef to the Earl of Sandwich so he wouldn’t have to put his playing cards down to eat, is honored one day a year and I didn’t even know it. I’m a sandwich fiend, which is partly why I’m so danged fat, but somehow I missed this one. Well, let me tell you, boys and girls — never again. And if there’s a National Hamburger Day (though technically the hamburger is a sandwich), I’ll be celebrating that one too. Yo.

But I made the mistake of going with Miracle Whip instead of regular mayonnaise, and I have to say, I regret it. My wife makes the best sandwiches on Earth, and it didn’t have the same chutzpah and awesomeness without the mayo. While many swear by Miracle Whip, I have to say, not me. Gimme mayo or don’t bother, for sandwiches. (Miracle Whip makes an awesome salad dressing, and the varieties are endless if you cut it with a small amount of your favorite regular salad dressing or sauces.)

While I still enjoyed the food — I didn’t get fat by choking down stuff I don’t like — I’m going to layer mayonnaise over the top of the MW on the remaining half of my sandwich (it was ginormous). Maybe that will fix it. I’ll have that for dinner tonight.

I sent out the chapters to my volunteer beta readers, and Sherri‘s already gotten back to me on it. Thanks, Sherri! For the rest of you, the sooner the better, okay? Thanks!

Any plans for the weekend? I’ve been stupid and squandered some time this week, so my 750 per weeknight didn’t happen. I’m going for the 3K each weekend day this time, though. I don’t really have any TV shows I want to watch without end like I did for the last couple of months, so this ought to get easier. Right?

Have an awesome weekend and I’ll see you next week.

-JDT-

6 thoughts on “National Sandwich Day

  1. How is it that you have to eat four more of those sandwiches? I have never heard of buying sandwiches in bulk.

    They’re pre-made, pre-wrapped sandwiches sold out of the refrigerated section of our local grocery store. I bought four of them without trying them first, because I’m really, really stupid like that sometimes. Now I have to eat them or die trying. 😦 Have a great weekend, Spark!

  2. When I was a kid, I invented a sandwich that I called the toast sandwich. It was very simple. I would take a slice of bread, toast it, spread some butter on it, then put that between two slices of the same buttered bread, but those two slices weren’t toasted. Then I made a club version. I toasted two slices and put a third untoasted slice in between to two toasted slices. No jams, no vegetation, no meats; just bread and butter.

    I’d have called that a masterpiece.

  3. No prob. Hope you got something useful out of it. If so, you can put me on the list for next time. I always wanted to see how that short story would play out. πŸ™‚

    When I sit to look at all the edits I’ve gotten so far, I’m sure it will make a difference. Glad the idea caught your interest. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m not a big fan of sandwiches. I do enjoy one here and there, but it’s not something we make, or want too often.

    I could certainly jump on board a burger day though!

    And Miracle Whip is just gross. The smell even makes my stomach turn a bit. Hellman’s all the way, baby!

    EWWW! Hellmans?! ICK! No, it’s Kraft or bust for us!

    • “The tangy zip” just doesn’t do it for me! I like the subtlety of Hellman’s.

      More like “Hellboy’s”.

      (PS – the way you wrote out “EWWW! Hellmans?! ICK!” is essentially what I imagine Cain saying while rejecting peas and bananas when I am feeding him)

      HAHAHA! Yeah, I have a philosophy — if they’re turning away from it like that, I taste it myself. If it’s nasty, I can’t justify forcing them to choke it down. πŸ™‚

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

