Day Three


While today is technically day three of my ten day vacation, in a way I feel it’s day one. It’s the first workday where I’m off.

Some of you may be interested to know this is the first paid vacation I’ve had in nine years. Since September of 2002. I could argue that time was an involuntary vacation. To be one of my choosing, I’d have to back up before that, but I pretty much treated the time after September 2002 as a vacation.

This time is strange, and I want to relish it. I don’t know what I should be doing. We’re not really “vacation” people, never having had the means or the wherewithal to do much with time off. In days past I spent vacations doing projects I loved, but so far all I’ve done is watch old TV shows on Netflix, for hours on end. I’m not complaining, though. I’ve really loved just relaxing without guilt. And I have to tell you, staying up until the wee hours of the morning on a Sunday was fun in the most juvenile way. I loved it.

Today, I have some shopping to do for Thanksgiving. The crowds will be obnoxious, I’m sure. The densely packed store will make me tired and I’ll come home and NAP. Ha!

Afterward, I can work on my writing project. The children won’t have to fight me for TV time to play with the PS3 and for that, they’ll be grateful. I’ll spend as much BIC time as I can to get chapter seven done, move beyond that. Maybe I’ll even take my computer to the bedroom if my back bothers me. (My back doesn’t hurt last two days, but I’m not able to judge whether my back pain is stress related since I’ve spent pretty much 72 hours on the couch.)

Life is good right now, and I have another week coming between Christmas and New Year. Before that, I have three and a half days I have to burn to make sure I use all my vacation time. I’ll lose it permanently when the calendar rolls over.

Oh, and I think I’m ready to send out chapter six now, for those who’d like to beta. I’m sure most of you are too busy with the holiday to partake this time, and that’s okay. I understand how that goes. But for any who are interested, I’ll put the usual sign up sheet for tomorrow. Just leave your email in the comments and I’ll fire it off.

What plans do you have for Thanksgiving? What are you doing this week? If you’re not celebrating Thanksgiving where you are, what’s ahead of you this week? Just another week of daily grind?

3 thoughts on “Day Three

  1. I would like a vacation right now. It is a busy week for my family, we have family visiting from out of town who will help paint my place. My brother has shoulder surgery tomorrow. I also might be buying my parents malibu this week.

    Wow, lots going on. Can’t blame you for needing a break.

  2. Enjoy your time off! πŸ™‚ It’s nice to just do nothing! And a very happy Thanksgiving weekend to you and the Fam Jam!

    Thanks sweetie! So far, so good. πŸ™‚

    Since Thanksgiving has come and gone in our corner of the globe, we will be going to visit friends on the South Shore for the night to see the lights festival, Christmas parade, Santa Claus, hot chocolate, roasting marshmallows, cookies and donuts, celebrations, and fireworks. Where we used to live puts on a great affair to kick off Christmas!

    Sounds like a LOT of fun! I’d LOVE to do something like that. If only I could without my stupid back giving out. 😦

    Then, my folks will be coming to meet us in town the next day, and picking Cain and I up so we can spend a week with them, and Matt will pick us up a week later on his next day off.

    Awesome! Grandparent time for Sugah!

    Other than that, working on Christmas projects (gifts, and decorations, and Cain’s first Advent/Christmas count down calendar).

    Woot! Good times…good times.

  3. Bah, no holiday in Canada! (We already had our Thanksgiving, so I shouldn’t grinch.) Just the daily grind. But I am looking forward to meeting my sister for dinner on Friday at a new vegan restaurant. That should be fun.

    Vegan restaurant, huh? Interesting! I don’t know if I’ve ever heard of that before. Have a great time!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

