Monday Morning Quarterback


tebow-raidersI wonder what the pundits will say today? Some will say it was happenstance, pure, dumb luck. Others, that it was the kicker. Others still, it was divine intervention.

Tim Tebow, overt Christian and quarterback for the Denver Broncos, has won 7 of his last 8 football games now. Every week, another “expert” talks about why he can’t continue to win this way. He doesn’t throw well enough. He doesn’t throw often enough. His mechanics are bad. His accuracy is bad. He’s loved, he’s hated and he’s uniformly reviled in the media and on the Internet. Even the president of his own football team (himself a Hall of Fame inductee) won’t solidly state he’s a fan and supporter. But Tim Tebow puts it all aside, continues to thank his Lord and Savior Jesus Christ whenever a microphone is shoved in his face, and he continues to win football games. For the record, Tim Tebow put his team into a position to win this time, and his teammates did the rest.

But they still won.

I, personally, LOVE the man. He won’t back down from his beliefs, and he’s unapologetic. He tries to be diplomatic in interviews, tries to maintain his integrity and class while media jackass after media jackass try to make him admit he’s not as good as other NFL quarterbacks, and he continues to win games, thanking his Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and his teammates each time. They believe in him, his leadership, his ability to make things happen on the field. He believes in their ability to do what they need to do to win. And isn’t that what team sports are supposed to be? Teams believing in and relying on each other?

Well, this one does and they win.

Next week, I face a dilemma. Tim Tebow and the Broncos face off against the New England Patriots – my team of choice. Not very many are giving the Broncos a chance in this one. But they didn’t give Tebow much of a chance in any of the others, either. I think he has a fine chance against a very porous and suspect defense, and with the support of a team which is going to rally around him as much as they can. A big lead going into the fourth quarter isn’t a deciding factor either (most “experts” say if Tebow’s Broncos are too far behind in the fourth quarter they won’t be able to score enough to win). After all, I’ve seen plenty teams much worse than the Broncos score on the Patriots in the final quarter. The Indianapolis Colts darn near got their first win of the season that way last week. The hapless Washington Redskins – by all rights a team far outclassed by the powerful Patriots – played them to a single-score game. No, there is nothing guaranteed about this game next week.

Tim Tebow is a juggernaut who continues to work with his teammates to keep the game in their favor. The fourth quarter belongs to Tim Tebow and the Broncos, they’ve won two in a row in overtime now. I wouldn’t bet against them next week.

Part of me, loyal to my team, wants them to be crushed and humiliated. Part of me, a believer in Christ Jesus and proud as a brother in Christ of what Tim Tebow does and is, wants to see him stand victorious.

Maybe I just won’t watch, and revel in whichever team is the victor. I really have no downside to this one.

How was your weekend? Me, I didn’t write a single character. I had a good time anyway though, and spent some quality time with my boy.

What about you? Sound off and let me know.

-JDT-

Copyright 2011 DarcKnyt, All rights reserved

5 thoughts on “Monday Morning Quarterback

  1. At the start of the season, a Super Bowl winning quarterback named Eli Manning proclaimed himself to be one of the best in his position throughout the league. He was then criticized by pretty well every “expert” following the NFL. I’m no football player, but if I was, I’d want my teammates to have high opinions of themselves and confidence in themselves. Eli Manning can hold up his hand and say “Look, see, Super Bowl ring. How many people in the NFL today can say that?”

    So, to the experts, I say “What do they know? Many of them have bare fingers.”

    As for Mr. Tebow. He isn’t a dominating player. But so what? He helps his team win. As do his teammates. They all work together to win football games. It’s like it’s their job of something.
    And not only are they winning, the Denver Broncos are winning in Disney-esque fashion each and every week. Every game is a come-from-behind victory. Every winning score looks like it’s in slow-motion, even though it’s live. I swear, when Tim Tebow takes a snap, I can hear Vangelis’ theme for Chariots of Fire playing.

    As for Mr. Tebow’s religion. I could care less. He ain’t the only guy thanking Jesus after the game. He’s just the only guy who has to field questions about religion after the game. But I would pay good money to hear Tom Brady say after a game “I would like to Satan,” because: a) it would be funny; b) it would be a nice contrast to Tebowmania; and c) he’s got that smile and wink combination that can make anything he say’s sound completely meaningless yet believable.

    Well, I doubt Tom Brady will profess his devotion to Satan, but the Broncos have a fairly banged-up defensive backfield, so maybe he’ll be able to do them evil another way on Sunday. 😉

  2. I am confused, why would you root for Tebow over your Pats? Is Tom Brady not also a “Brother in Christ”? He had a Catholic wedding and his baby was Christened. Just because Brady doesn’t announce it every week doesn’t change who he is and what he believes in.

    I’m not sure why you’re confused Bob,* but plenty — PLENTY — of people have church weddings and do church-related things and rituals without being Christian. I know because I was one of them. I don’t believe Tom Brady’s wedding or the Christening of his child make him a born again believer. But, rather than get into a theological or religious debate, here’s an article on Wikipedia about being a born-again Christian. (Hope that link works!) It’s not exhaustive by any means, but it is a starting place to help show why I don’t ascribe anyone’s adherence to a particular denomination as an indicator of being Christian.

    Likewise being open and overt about it like Tim Tebow is doesn’t always make someone all they appear to be. Lots of “Christian” leaders blowing their own horns fell hard and fast when caught with their hands in the cookie jar. I know lots of football players in the NFL who weren’t as open or vocal about their faith in Christ as Tim Tebow, but they weren’t shy about it either. Randall Cunningham, Reggie White (who WAS vocal about it), Terry Bradshaw, Antwaan Randle El, Deion Sanders, and lots of others are. It’s not uncommon. But Tom Brady isn’t generally on that list. I could be wrong, but as far as I know, Tom Brady doesn’t profess to be a born again Christian. And because Tim is so bold and brave about professing, I admire him all the more.

    * – EDIT: I’m a dork. Now I see CLEARLY the confusion statement and what it’s about. My apologies!

  3. Huhn,

    So God’s Second Son squares off against Bill Bellicheater and the Cheating Sunsabitches Formerly Known as the Cheating New Cheating England Cheating Patriots?

    Oh, you’re one of THOSE. How’re the Rams doin’ down there? They moved outta town yet? Oh wait, no they haven’t because NO ONE F**KING WANTS THEM. Ahem.

    Should be a barn burner.

    Interesting, anyway. I’m still thinkin’ I want Tebow to win it. Just because it will shut up his detractors.

    If you have any doubt how it will turn out, just flash back to the hand of God gluing that football to David Tyree’s helmet in Superbowl 17. Whuahaa-ha-haaaaaa!

    If the Denver D can keep ’em in check for three quarters, it’s a foregone win for them. The Patriots CANNOT stop anyone in the fourth quarter, except the Redskins, and THEY did all their scoring early and often. Time will show.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

