Movie Review: Peacock


peacock_movie_posterJohn Skillpa, a shy, reclusive bank clerk in rural Peacock, Nebraska, has a train crash through the fence of his backyard and uncover a deep-rooted secret John’s been keeping.

It just might not be the one you think it is.

The heavy train car is buried up to the window line in his yard, and a massive mound of dirt is piled in front of it. The train company can’t get there soon enough, and John’s idyllic life is slowly unwinding, bit by bit, as he struggles to keep his world in its proper order.

Without question the best movie I saw last weekend was Peacock. It has everything I love in movies – believable characters, interesting story lines, and tension so high I was on a wire the whole time.

Cillian Murphy’s not a favorite of mine, but in this role, he was amazing. I was blown away by the man’s range and ability. It was downright eerie to watch him play the role through the movie. Bravo, Messr. Murphy, bravo.

And the movie does the most incredible job of making a character sympathetic as I’ve ever seen. The townspeople are intrusive and nosy, and all the main character wants is to be left alone so he can … be. I can relate to that. I’ve known that sensation, and I have to say they hooked me and had me balling my fists through so much of the film I had to physically move around to get relaxed. Suspension of disbelief, anyone? Oh yeah. As an introvert, I can completely side with this character and his desires to restore things to normalcy.

Winding tighter and tighter, the reality of John’s life and recent past unravel fast and furious when the skeletons in his closet are brought to the light, and something’s got to snap. Looks like it will be John.

Peacock is a gripping story with amazing direction, cinematography, and storytelling. The dialog is tight, the acting stellar (there’s more than one person in Peacock with a strange life), and the characters rich. I gave it five stars on NetFlix because, well, it kicks some serious butt.

If you’re looking for a good drama without explosions or gun shots or government agents, just dial up Peacock with Susan Sarandon, Cillian Murphy, Ellen Page, Bill Pullman and Keith Carradine. It’s a good ‘un.

-JDT-

Copyright 2011 DarcKnyt, All rights reserved

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

