Post-Christmas Blues


Ah, Christmas was awesome, wasn’t it? At least, ours was; I hope the same is true for you all out there, blogulars. Here in the Darc recesses, our children gave us joy and gladness and we gave them toys and games. They seemed happy. I wanted so much for there to be more – it looked like more, to be sure, when all boxed and wrapped and ribboned – but in the end, it was all a small pile of things we hope they’ll enjoy.

And Christmas day itself was filled with good eats (I mean, prime rib on Christmas Eve followed by a traditional turkey feast on Christmas day), good times, good people and loads and loads of love. I don’t remember happier times, even in my childhood. There’s something so much more special about being on this side – the grown-up side – of Christmas. It really is more blessed to give than receive, I suppose.

And today? Well, today I’ll be able to look back over the year that was and, for the first time in many years, I’ll be able to smile. The year didn’t get redeemed at the last possible minute, there wasn’t any floodgate opening to dump money on us like last year, but this year there was even more build-up, more anticipation, more hope, joy and freedom. Less pressure, less stress, and even though I have to log in to work a couple of times this week, I’m on vacation and will have a job to go back to when January rolls around. That’s a really, really nice feeling.

Now, however, is the part where I get a little melancholy because it’s all over. The gifts are unwrapped, all the new toys and games tried, all the paper stuffed into garbage bags and ready to be put out in the trash. The candles are blown out, the turkey carcass ready to be picked over for sandwiches (yum!), and the chocolates are eaten and gone.

This year, however, I don’t have the blues too bad. This year, I have that lingering joy, love and wonder of a Christmas made magical again. For the first time in memory, Christmas was a time to look forward to, a time to hope for and anticipate. And that little bit of warmth glowing inside will linger with me for a while, I suspect. I hope.

So I hope your day was blessed and as joyous as ours, and may the days left in 2011 be more of the same. And I hope for each of you the new year will bring only the best of life.

-JDT-

7 thoughts on “Post-Christmas Blues

  1. Good use of the word! I was planning on using it the same way!

    Ha! I wasn’t planning it at all! Never even noticed! 😀 Hope you had a Merry Christmas!

  2. I know what you mean by the after-Christmas blues, but at the same time, I feel so much happier. I’m going to try and keep this positive attitude for as long as I can, and try to remember daily why I have so much to be thankful for. It’s a personal goal, mostly because I love how happy Christmas is and want it to be more like that throughout the year. You know? But I’m happy y’all had a great Christmas! I hope you have many, many, many more that are the same. =)

    Aw, thanks Elisa, and we hope yours are only happy and love-filled too. As for hanging onto the happy…well, that’s my personal goal too. Hang in there and never forget how loved we are by our Lord and King. 🙂

  3. I felt sad this year because I’m missing my zaidy and my father-in-law, but other than that I certainly have no complaints about this holiday season. I’m glad that you feel satisfied and content. 🙂

    I’m sorry it was a blue Christmas for you this year, Spark. Or, blue Chanukah, I suppose. I hope things will get easier as time goes on and thank you for being our friend. We value you so much. 🙂

  4. Yah.

    We had a pretty good Christmas at our crib too. No debt. Very little stress. A lot of family time and good food.

    My post-Christmas depression is linked to my psychological use of Christmas as a dividing line between “before and after.” I stopped a bunch of projects “until after Christmas.” Now it’s “after Christmas.” I’ve got to get the ball rolling again on a lot of messy stuff/expensive stuff.

    Sigh.

    Good luck with it all, Rufus, and have a Happy New Year!

  5. I am so glad to hear you guys had a great Christmas 🙂

    Thanks, it was amazing and fun!

    This is the first year we owned our Christmas. We stayed home for most and did our own thing. On Christmas Eve, we ordered Chinese and had cheesecake. And had a nice relaxing Christmas Day (I mixed up a breakfast bake, and had the slow cooker prepped the night before to ensure an effort free day), and we, too, had a prime rib roast! Then after supper we went to Matt’s Mom’s house, and spent the night, and the madness began on Boxing Day! We had 15 people, including the kids, and it was great. Roast turkey, lots of laughs, and great company. And our nephew is the perfect age for Christmas now, and he just had a blast, and he got to open extra presents because the babies can’t open theirs, and it was just wonderful to watch how excited he was over everything.

    A fantastic Boxing Day! (Why’s it called that, btw?)

    • I recall reading once that it used to be something like a gratuity, or gift that wealthy folk would give to the people who work for them after Christmas, or provided services.

      When I was little, my Mom always gave boxed chocolates to the bus driver, and the mail lady, and the milk man. Kind of like that, I guess, but we weren’t wealthy, lol

      OH! And here, dork I am, thought it might have to do with boxing up all the gifts which have to be returned! Ha! I’m so ig’nant sometimes.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

