THE END IS NEAR! THE END IS NEAR!


Today’s the last Friday of my vacation, and of the year. Coincidence? I think not.

Seriously, as you may or may not have noticed, I don’t have a post for today. Matter of fact, as I sit here typing this right now, I’m tempted to jump on my SANDWICH searcher bash-rant machine just to see if I can generate some hits from those not yet drunk in anticipation of the New Year.

But no. No, today I’ll refrain from using the word sandwich simply to giggle over the hits I’ll get because of it. Today I salute my wife as the ULTIMATE sandwich queen. Never before have I loved sandwiches made at home so much as when she makes them. I can only imagine what she could do with really good ingredients like I had as a child.

Final football weekend of the 2011 season is this weekend. I’ll miss it, despite not having seen a single game. My two teams — one from my dim and distant past and one I’ve chosen for myself — both did great this year and are going on to the final single-elimination tournament. I can’t wait to see if one or both will go to the Super Bowl. And what if they faced each other? Oh, the joy!

Alas, I think the Green Bay Packers are destined to win again. I see no one capable of stopping them, really. On the other conference’s side, I would think the Baltimore Ravens or the Pittsburgh Steelers (UGH, really, again?) would be the ones to beat. Much as I hate both teams — and make no mistake, I hate the f**king pi$$ out of both of ’em — I have to acknowledge not being surprised to see either in the ‘Bowl this year.

Oh well. I’ve been working out pretty consistently over the last week, and I think it’s already working despite how simple and short the workouts are. I can’t wait to see how things shape up over the next several months. Baby steps, for sure, but steps nonetheless. Let’s face it, you can at least move forward with baby steps. Doing nothing tends to make one stand still.

How ’bout you? Plans for the New Year’s Eve celebration? We like to stay home and watch it on TV. I mean, crowds, noise and drunkenness don’t hold so much appeal as they did once. I guess it had appeal once. When I was about 21. What are you doing?

Whatever it is, have a Happy and Safe New Year.

God bless and see ya in 2012. It’s the year the world ends according to a race of people who checked out off the face of the planet about 1200 years ago, you know, so make sure it counts for something.

-JDT-

One thought on “THE END IS NEAR! THE END IS NEAR!

  1. And what is the ultimate sandwich for you?

    The HAMBURGER! So many varieties! SO many flavors possible! MMMMMM!! Gaaaahhhh*!

    Like I said, I don’t really follow the games throughout the season, it’s just toooo long, and I don’t really understand the game, and Matt tries repeatedly to explain. Who makes it? Not really of any interest, however, I thoroughly enjoyed yelling “Who dat?!” a few years ago, and then dancing around like a fool when New Orleans won after Matt said they didn’t stand a chance, and I insisted they would win.

    Ha! Rub it in!

    And no plans for New Years. Staying in and enjoying a quiet night with some drinks. We’re serious party animals 🙂 I always think back to my favourite New Years Eve event, and wonder how I survived. I was messed all the way up!

    I don’t know about party animals, never having been one, but I can honestly say I prefer the quiet ones to the rowdy times where I couldn’t see straight through the alcohol and crowds. Heh. Can hardly believe those days ever happened!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

