Back…After an Unsuccessful Baseball Career


I have egg -- and other substances -- on my face.

Well, this is embarrassing.

I’ve had to admit defeat with my free hosted site, which now holds my darcknyt.com domain hostage. At the same time, the amount of effort and the limitations the free host placed on my loving spouse and I isn’t worth the stress involved with trying to keep it up and running. So, I’m going to let it go feral over there and move my domain as of March.

I’ll find someplace better ‘n this, but for now, this is what I’ve got — and what I’m willing to work with — so here’s where I’ll hang out for a bit and see what happens.

At least here I can use WLW and schedule posts for days in advance and such. Which has meant more consistent blogging (and writing!) for me. The other site? Not so much. I have to post or save as a draft and post on the day I want it to go up. No scheduled posts, which makes Johnny a dull and inconsistent blogger, because I don’t remember these things. I write when I have ideas, not when I have to publish. It’s better for me to store them and have them go up when I want them to than to have to be able to access the blog when I have something I want to publish. And it’s flat easier than trying to manage a bunch of files without forgetting them.

Anyway, the commenting over there stinks too.

When it’s time my buddy Bryce will help me get through the move (he already said so) and so will the new host, so I have about six weeks to find one.

But for now, I’ll be here. Sorry for the blog-hopping you guys. For your trouble, I’ll give anyone who’s interested a free copy of not one, but BOTH of my books to read in any format you like (other than print). Just let me know you want them in the comments, along with an email address to use, and I’ll send you a coupon for Smashwords.com (complete with links to the books) so you can download any format you’d like free of charge.

Again, thanks for your patience, and I hope to see you back here from time to time.

God bless,
-JDT-

6 thoughts on “Back…After an Unsuccessful Baseball Career

  1. That’s life. I think I’m on my six and seventh personal blogs now…

    Really?! Where are those?

    I never actually deleted this feed from my reader. Either I knew you’d be back, or I’m lazy.

    Oh, I hope it was the second. I will be moving, but not for about five weeks yet. *Sigh*

    • A couple of them are just gone into the digital ether. I had domains and hosting, and everything and I just let the accounts lapse. I think one or two might be still on wordpress somewhere. And one on blogger.

      I thought about Blogger, but after their cute little maneuvers in ’08, NAAAAH.

  2. I’m tellin’ ya…Go Daddy for $4.99/mo and site mapping through WP. It’s easy as pie.

    I know that’s worked for you but my wife won’t use GoDaddy. Besides, we don’t want to keep our actual WP sites; we want to install new themes, tweak ’em, allow downloads, and more. But don’t think I ain’t listenin’, ’cause we’re looking at HostMonster and others for similar prices.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

