Friday Freak-Out (Kinda)


So, it’s Friday, and I have to go in and face the fact I’m going to miss at least one deadline on my “project list” (read: NOOSE).

But I’m going to do my best to keep at it and let my boss know I’m not a quitter. I’ll be able to say I tried. I had to be out yesterday to take care of some things (my glasses for one), and because it was at the company’s request I take some time and have my car checked out (they say it’s a “safety hazard” — no, I’m not joking), I only had to take half a day of vacation time. The rest was on the house, like it would be if I had to get a drug test done.

So that’s the bad news. But the good news is, my co-worker has a husband who is, apparently, a real blood hound when it comes to finding parts for cars cheap and quality. She put him on the case this morning, and says she’ll get back to me first chance she gets after hearing from him. Today is physical inventory day at the warehouse for us, so I have to be patient for that. Still, it’s a glimmer of hope. Sorta.

Anyway, that’s over with and I’m here, but not able to resolve the car issue (wow, who knew it’d be so expensive to repair a part for an old car?!). I can, however, see better with my new prescription for my glasses. Notgreat, mind you, but better. Great’s not gonna happen for the rest of my life, thanks Stupidity and Shortsightedness of Youth.
In other news, I’ve progressed a bit in the outline process for my new novel, and I even finished editing the prologue for my WIP. Now I’m going to start collecting your feedback and incorporate the changes suggested (not all of them, of course, but those which make the best sense for the book — so don’t be offended if your input wasn’t injected. It’s not that I don’t love you, it’s just that one person thinks one section is outstanding, another wanted a change, so…who do I believe/favor/listen to? Myself…after all, I’m the writer, right?
I’m not going to panic about what I can’t control though. I’ve done my best with everything I can do, and I’ll keep doing that in the hope my best will be good enough.
It hasn’t been before, so why it would be now is the mystery I’ll try not to ponder over the weekend.
Have a happy weekend and I’ll see ya on the other side.
-JDT-
One thought on “Friday Freak-Out (Kinda)

  1. How can your car be a “safety hazard” for your company? Do you leave it idling in the office? WTH?!

    I don’t know, but they’re not interested in being fined for having someone leak gasoline all over their parking lot. But it’s not a leak like that, so I don’t think they can do anything to me. And I’m hoping the village can’t either. But time will show.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

