I Want My Money Back


So, we can now have Amazon Instant Videos streamed to our PlayStation 3. For a price, natch.

I don’t object to paying for movie rentals. The problem I have is, I only watch a movie once. If it’s free, and I really, really liked it, then maybe I’ll watch it again. Like OnDemand for instance, or NetFlix. But I probably won’t pay to see it twice. So, things like Blockbuster rentals don’t work out all that well for me.

But I don’t mind paying for a decent movie, and I’ve used Amazon’s service once before and enjoyed it. When we found out we could get it through our TV instead of our computers, well! Bonus!

But…

So, okay. Here’s the problem. I chose a movie I’d wanted to see for a long time. When I saw the initial trailer, I thought it sounded like a decent story. (More on that in a minute.) Interesting premise, great set…what more could you ask, right?

How ‘bout good acting? Good writing? Something good about the movie beside the trailer?

So, when I rented the stupid movie for $4.00, I expected to be entertained. And I wasn’t. No, not at all. In fact, I kept on trying to make myself get into the movie, into the spirit of the thing, and just.couldn’t.do.it.

So, I can’t recommend Sol to any of you. No matter how appealing it seems, it’s not. At one point, early on, when the movie’s lousy acting and poor sound were making me realize why the movie had a hard time finding a distribution company and leaving me wondering if the post-production process had actually been completed, my loving wife dropped the gem, “What is this, Lord of the Flies or something?”

Yes. Yes it is. Lord of the Flies in space is all it is, which is (a tiny fraction of) why the story kept niggling me. I’d seen it before, turns out. And since I don’t like sitting through a movie twice (or even a book for the most part), I guess I was destined not to like it after all.

And I didn’t. And now, I want my money back and can’t have it. Sad smile

Ah, well. Live and learn, I suppose…although there’s only so many times I can say that before even I realize it’s not happening with me.

-JDT-

4 thoughts on “I Want My Money Back

  1. Lord of the Flies in space…
    Piggie…
    Pigs in Space!

    You shoulda rented some Muppets episodes instead.

    They had that new Muppets movie you blogged about…which means, of course, it bombed. But I’m not a big fan of the Muppets.

  2. That sounds like a movie I can do without watching…husband is the movie buff in the family, anyway :). How have you been otherwise?

    You’re not missing a thing, unfortunately. It had such promise! Other than that, I’m well — how are you doing? You’ve become something of a rock star on your blog! Fame suits you!

  3. Don’t you love the Instant and On Demand options! I buy a lot of TV on DVD and I’m toying with the idea of going digital through Amazon. I can get the season cheaper and I don’t have to store all the DVDs, but then I don’t have a “collection”. What to do, what to do…

    I like it, yeah, but if you don’t know what’s on and whether it’s any good…?

  4. I find most movies disappointing, which might be a good thing. If all movies were as good as their trailers lead one to believe, I might spend too much time watching movies.

    Well, there is that. 🙂 Always count on you to find that silver lining, Spark! Thank you for being here.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

