Frieday


Well, I’ve been having strange dreams the last couple of days. I’ve been watching more TV than I should too. Damn you, Netflix! *Sigh*

But my dreams? Yeah, I’m seeing computer code in them. How sad, how pathetic, is that?

On the upside, however, there’s a lot of “revealing” going on. In my sleep, as I’m coming out of dreams, I’m remembering these helpful snippets of code. Some would say my subconscious is working overtime and giving me the solutions I need. I’d like to think the Lord is helping me through my rough waters. Either way, I’m getting solutions.

Too bad they’re not the right ones.

I got to work on Thursday, after fighting with these reports I’m coding all week, and found out my boss looked them over and found stuff wrong. Kind of a lot of stuff, actually. I had to try and fix it.

Aside: For coding Active Server Pages, which provide dynamic content or database information to a standard HTML page for ease of access and display while protecting said data sources, I use Visual Web Developer 2010. My predecessor, whose shoes I will apparently never fill, used FrontPage 2003, and VWD 2005 and later replaced that product. The 2010 version is amazing, and I love it, and it was the first version to provide a zoom feature so I could enlarge the code in the design window and stop straining my feeble eyes. Brilliant software, and it includes a visual designer so I can drag and drop items to create an HTML page quick and easy, putting things like DreamWeaver to shame forever.

Well, Thursday I went to fire up the Query Designer, which allows me to connect to a database and put out a sample query to test the results. And the results I got? Yeah, the software says it can’t load that module any more. Nothing specific, just a vague error message, which Microsoft doesn’t appear to care to fix.

OH, snap.

So now, the tool I depend on to do my work and test and configure things, the tool I’ve relied on and have finally gained some confidence with, is broken. I could go back to the earlier version – heck, I could even go back to FrontPage if I wanted, it’s still on our server and ready to install – but I like VWD2010. A lot. I don’t think I can do this without it. I just don’t. I’ve become hooked on it and it’s Intellisense (which finishes code lines and offers choices where they’re available for things like attributes, methods and properties), it’s built-in query designer, and other goodies. I can’t use a straight text editor – I tried. It didn’t go well, and I simply can’t go back.

So what am I going to do?

I don’t know, but if you’re the praying kind, I can use all you can spare. I’m going in today to do battle with a lot of things, and none of them are in my favor.

Hope you all have a great weekend, and I’ll see you on the other side.

-JDT-

2 thoughts on “Frieday

  1. At least you aren’t waiting tables in a restaurant with multiple levels in your sleep. I had weird dreams last night too. It was a mix of Burn Notice and Buffy, the Vampire Slayer…I was killing demons and dating Sam Axe. If I had watched The Evil Dead, I would understand the dream, but…?

    Yeah. I guess if I watched anything you’d mentioned, I’d understand your dream too, but…? 😉 Happy Mother’s Day!

  2. For your programming questions, do you ever hang out on stackoverflow?

    You know, I myself don’t hang out anywhere for that sort of thing. Usually, my need is more immediate than that, so I have to Google the answers and just go where the wind takes me.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

