Weekend Round-Up


Well, to all the moms out there, I hope you had a happy and wonderful Mother’s Day.

To the rest of you, I hope you had a good weekend, too. I did. I spent time with my mother of choice, my WIP, Angry Birds and my kids. What more can I ask?

Had a great day at work on Friday after all. I found one possible solution for my VWD2010 issue (remember my discussion of that?), and so I emailed myself a copy of the file which somehow got damaged and the location path so I could find it again. When I got to work I deleted the file in question, replaced it with the new file from home, and BANG! The software worked again! YEE-HA!

I coded my happy butt off all day. Finally got some ground gained, too.

On the WIP, I finished up the fifth chapter for editing and now I’m tackling the rewrites on chapter six. Some of you expressed pretty strong concerns about it, but my wife thought it actually wasn’t that bad. Hm. So I’ll tweak it and see what we come up with, but I spent part of my weekend outlining that portion of the book so I’d have a plan. Not having one has really caused me problems in the past.

I’ve been having to fight the woodworking bug too. I can’t do it – no tools, no space or money for tools,and did I mention we live in an apartment? – but man oh man, it was one of my most favorite things to do ever. I didn’t know how consuming a hobby could be, and even though I wasn’t ever a “master” of it, I did make things worth showing and selling and loved almost every minute of it. Almost. (Yeah…I remember the mistakes too.)

Other than that, I really didn’t do much. I sat around and waited for the love of my life to tell me what she wanted for Mother’s Day, wanted to do for Mother’s Day, or even if she just wanted me to take the kids away from the house for the day so she could do what she wanted for a few hours.

How’d you spend your time this weekend?

-JDT-

2 thoughts on “Weekend Round-Up

  1. Hey, that all sounds pretty darn good! 🙂 Nothing like an easy fix to an apparently complex problem.

    Found another one like that today. Got it done just a few moments ago after MONTHS of agonizing over why it might not be working. It was so simple I didn’t think it would work, but VOILA! It DID! Woo!

    I had hopped do do almost nothing this weekend, but that didn’t quite work out. On Saturday I went to a dinner meeting for work and didn’t get home until 11:30 pm. It was a pleasant gathering, but still, way past my bedtime! *yawn* On Sunday I was at my paternal grandmother’s 96th birthday party. We really rocked it out, as you can imagine. 🙂 Actually it was a pretty good time. Everyone but me gave her a plant, so when we drove her home I adopted 4 of her old plants to make room for the new ones. New plants excitement! They’re purty and my other plants are happy to have new playmates.

    A great time had by all sounds like just what a birthday party ought to be — and for a 96 year-old, EVERYDAY should be a birthday party! Glad you had fun, and bonus score on the new plants! Happy B-lated B-Day to the youngster from all of us. 🙂

  2. Find a way to pursue the woodworking hobby. Some schools have night courses where you can use their equipment and make fun stuff. Hobbies make us better people.

    True, dat. I might have to do that sometime. But…writing is my hobby. Am I not better for it? 😦

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

