Ready to Roll on Ahead


Okay, so, at least one of you felt it was important I promote my new novel as much as possible before getting into a new one. Others feel it’s just as important to get into a new book and get the product out there so your customers — loyal readers who maybe liked what you wrote — will have more stuff they can read when they finish the first one.

I believe it’s got to be a balance of both. I’d love to have a “publicist” who could promo my work, but I’ve seen “publicists” posting to Facebook and Twitter with little to no success. I’ve seen authors chase around all over their regional area going to “book signings” and such, all for a handful of sales.

Thank goodness eBook publishing means I don’t have to do any of that. It also means, while I should try and get people interested in my product, most of the people who read it will do so because they found it on Amazon themselves.

I read an article my buddy Bryce sent me a link to, on a blog by a young lady who’s trying to generate enough loyal fans — those that read everything and anything the author writes — to make her employment full-time writing. I’d love to be there too, but she had some stuff on her blog which made a load of sense, wasn’t that hard to do, and might have been key in making things happen for her. She had her best month ever in May and while she’s not sure if she’ll duplicate her results, the fact she made more than she did on her day job is very appealing.

Anyway, she had some tips and things on her blog I might try. After all, what’s it going to hurt? I’ve got not very much to lose.

So, for me, I’m going to dig in to Scrivener and start my next book. Not because I don’t value the advice of those saying I need to promo this book — I do appreciate the input and will heed the advice to the best of my ability — but I also need to have product for readers to acquire. If I don’t, there’s no sense in trying to market this one. (In addition, I’ve learned series do better than stand alones, and sticking with one genre per pen name helps. Great. Now I needanother pen name to use. *Sigh.)

That being said, I’m going to go forth and begin the writing process on my next book, which has an outline (albeit not horribly detailed yet), and get the ball rolling on that. My wife, the loving and supportive person she is, is excited about a book whose subject doesn’t in the slightest excite her. That is, she doesn’t even like the subject matter but finds the story compelling and wants to read it. I’m honored by that. I think she’s worth rewarding.

Finally, I sent out a few copies of my newest novel before I released it (the night before, it’s true, but still). If you got a copy and have read it, or are reading it, please consider leaving a review on Amazon. I haven’t got any so far, and I really need as many of those as I can to boost the visibility of the book. Add tags as well, if please. On the other hand, if you don’t like the book, please don’t speak about that. Lie. (Just kidding. Gotta take the lumps with the good, just like in a bowl of mashed potatoes.)

Have a great weekend everyone. See you on the other side.

-JDT-

4 thoughts on “Ready to Roll on Ahead

  1. Sorry for not getting to my review of your ebook yet! I’m putting my own ebook out on Monday (as you know) and things have been a little busy, but I just wanted to let you know I didn’t forget about you. Best of luck with the new story!

    I understand, everyone’s busy. Good luck with your publication too. Any particular reason why you chose Monday, a workday, versus a Saturday when more people might be looking for something to read poolside? Just curious.

  2. My boss’s niece somehow got attached to other well-known authors so her book appeared at the end of their book in the “If you liked this, try these”. I’m not sure how that happened, but it really helped promote her book.

    I can imagine. Wow. How cool would THAT be?

    I’m still working on AL;VH, and A Fine Cast of Characters. I really will get to your new book and I’m guessing I’ll like it so much, I’ll fly through it and leave a stellar review in no time. I’m very OCD about finishing one book before another so starting AFCoC while in the middle of AL;VH should have caused earth to crash into the sun.

    I don’t know what AL;VH is, but I hope you enjoy AFCoC. I can send you A Moonlit Stroll if you do. But so you know, Scales of Justice isn’t a horror novel. It’s more fantasy and adventure, I suppose. Which isn’t going to help my brand at all, but eh. That’s why I indie publish, so I can write what I want.

    • Abraham Lincoln; Vampire Hunter. Just when I want to weep because it’s so dry and boring, something a little interesting happens and I decide to stick with it. I know a book is a major snore when it takes me a week to finish it.

      AH! Gotcha. It looked like a fun movie; never even HEARD of the book until after the film came out. Heh.

      I figured Scales of Justice was more fantasy than horror and I’m okay with that.

      I hope other readers don’t mind me writing in different genres under the same pen name. I’m lousy at coming up with names for characters, including me.

      I don’t want you to send me A Moonlight Stroll. I will BUY it since that’s why you publish. Goof.

      The idea is, if you tag it, like it, review it, then OTHER PEOPLE will ALSO pay for it (more than one, hopefully), and THAT is why I’m willing to give my work away, silly. 😉 I appreciate the support, but honest, I’ll trade it for a review.

  3. Although there’s a lot of talk of “beach reading”, I find that people do read less in the summertime. I wonder if that has anything to do with the smaller number of downloads. I love to read, but when the trees are calling me to come outside for a nice long walk, I can’t resist. The books tend to wait until the weather gets chilly again.

    Oh, I’m sure you’re right Spark. I don’t think those trapped indoors for the majority of the calendar year spend any outdoor time they can get reading. Yes, vacations, trips, kids and a plethora of other reasons are why downloads drop during summer months, but there are still plenty of people who enjoy being in the sunshine with a good book.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

