E-Books and the Learning Curve


If you believe once you’ve converted a manuscript to an ebook you’re good at it and won’t have much trouble next time you do it, you’re in for a surprise. The unpleasant variety.

Okay, maybe not you, but me.

This past weekend, I decided I’d put some of my longer stories – which are, by the way, included in the collections A Fine Cast of Characters and A Moonlit Stroll – into Amazon’s Kindle store as stand-alone stories for a cheap price. More name recognition, with a teaser to get the whole thing for not much money if you liked the taste. Not a bad plot, I guess, but I don’t know if it’s going to work. I figure what the heck?

So, I get to work on that in the midst of outlining my new novel. I need a break, so I wanted to spend a few minutes getting the new novella/story ready.

A few minutes turned into hours of fuss-budget work, flipping back and forth, converting and re-converting the file so I can check the look, the formatting, the spacing, the image, the cover, all that. It was horribly annoying and I still don’t know if I got all the bug-a-boos.

So, don’t take anything for granted. This is my fourth foray into ebook publishing on Amazon, and I could probably offer this to other aggregator sites like Smashwords too. But honestly, I don’t really want to, and with the Kindle Select’s five-day free period, it will manage to do it’s job – generate interest.

On the other hand, not being exclusive for 90 days has it’s appeal, too, and I can get the price set to free if I make it free on Smashwords and post on Kindle later. But…eh. I think less than a buck’s okay too. I guess I can experiment with this one and take the lessons learned from it to the next one.

Anyway, that’s how I spent my weekend. How ‘bout you?

-JDT-

One thought on “E-Books and the Learning Curve

  1. I hate those “easy” tasks that end up in tears and frustration.

    Well, I managed to avoid the tears. And I’ve found a much, MUCH easier way. Stay tuned. 🙂

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

