A Dark and (Brain)Stormy Night…


Last night, as I tried to drift off to sleep, I was struck by a couple of bolts of inspiration.

One came as I sat wondering how in the world I managed to outline my entire first act in the book formerly known as Ghost Hunters in a single sitting, after dinner, and after doing all the other stupid things online I shouldn’t do until after writing.

I’ve been sitting and reading and pondering and outlining a lot since I finished and published Scales of Justice. But I’ve been reeling since I got ripped by a reviewer for the story’s weaknesses, and the insight that reviewer offered in how the story could be better. For a time, I considered rewriting it and doing what the suggestions entailed, but decided against it. I’ve finished it. I let it go. I should have gotten more feedback, and no one among those who gave me feedback saw anything glaringly wrong. By the same token, one of those people only gave me four stars in their review, so something about the story didn’t sit right. Maybe I will redo the ending, when the time is right.

So anyway, I’ve done a lot of pondering about my writing, wondering if I’m any good at it in all honesty. As I considered what I’d accomplished, and how excited I was about the idea of making that story stronger and deeper, and how fast it went, I realized I’d learned so much about story development and outlining, especially in the last few months. And with the injection of the new story theories I’ve had in the last several weeks, I’m growing again like I haven’t grown since…well, since I started studying story structure.

While I thought about it, I recognized some other things I could do to strengthen my stories — any of them — even more. Recognition brought more excitement, and before long I couldn’t sleep.

Then, while I flopped around trying to fight the temptation to get up and go write something, I changed gears and opened up a programming book. I’ve been struggling with my programming for a bit too, and figured this could only help. Besides, what’s more sleep-inducing than computer programming books? (Answer: Watching golf.)

But while I switched gears, my brain found yet more inspiration. I came up with the solution to a nagging issue that’s been holding back my latest project. I had to find a way to iterate through an array, and find records in another array which matched the records in the first array. A set of nested loop structures, with an If-Then structure inside the second one, would be the perfect way to do it. (That’s probably painfully, horrifically obvious to you programmers out there, but to us noobs, this is a huge “EUREKA” moment.)

And more excitement. By the time I shut my tablet off and closed my eyes, I was absolutely buzzing with anticipation for the day. I can’t wait.

And it’s been a long, long, long time since I could say that.

-jdt-

One thought on “A Dark and (Brain)Stormy Night…

  1. I know nothing about programming so I can’t comment on that. But I can comment on writing – keep going regardless, there’ll always be critics! πŸ™‚

    Don’t feel alone, Dianne; I know nothing about programming either apparently. πŸ˜‰ Thank you for the encouragement and for saying hello! I’m glad to meet you. πŸ™‚

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

