Need a Miracle… or Two… Today…


Work

Well, today I need a heapin’ helpin’ of God.

I don’t mind telling you, I’m nervous. I got some help from my buddy Bryce, but I don’t know if it’ll be enough to get me through my programming struggles. My boss is back from vacation on Monday, and I’d like to be able to tell him I got something accomplished. I just don’t have anything to show for it.

For my part, I’ve had to stop and start a couple of times. I got so far and couldn’t get over the last little hump. I thought I had it figured out last night but this morning I got part of the way there and couldn’t get over the hump again. Bryce may have given me the answer I need, but I won’t know until well after you’ve finished reading this post. So wish me luck if you’re not doing anything. If you’re the praying type, toss one o’ those my way too, willya?

Writing

Other than that, I’ve been writing up a storm. Well…okay, not writing. Outlining. But in the end, it’s toward my writing.

As some of you know, I’ve been doing little but outlining since I published my last novel. I don’t mind saying I’ve learned a lot and feel I’m a better writer for it. But I’m also nervous. I can put together a better plot, for sure, and leave fewer story arc holes (if any), but how does that translate into prose on the page which is compelling to read?

It doesn’t. I’m still the weak link. I could craft the finest story, and have sound structure, good plotlines, subtext built in, and even get my theme through. But I’ve become skittish about putting fingers to keys on a story. Making the words come alive. Putting together things people want to read. Heck, I don’t even know what my “voice” sounds like, from a writer’s perspective.

I guess the only solution for that is to write. Just shut up and do it. I’m just afraid I’m no good at it and will find that out the painful way.

Need a miracle there too, I guess.

Sayonara

Nothing else on the docket for me. Have a good weekend, all.

-jdt-

3 thoughts on “Need a Miracle… or Two… Today…

  1. We all feel that way when it comes to writing. I make myself sick with fear sometimes, but it’s not healthy. Just keep writing. Keep learning. And keep putting it out there.

    Oh, thank you Dani. If I had your talent level, though, I’d be fearless. 😉 Have a good weekend.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

