Things I Learned Last Weekend


I learned a few things over the weekend. I’d like to share them.

Writing

Writing is a lot easier when you write. If you don’t actually do any writing, it’s tough to get anything written.

Outlining is fun. I mean, this is FUN. I don’t ever have to write anything ever again. I can just outline ideas for books and stuff and then be content. I wonder if anyone will pay for an outline?

I have a lot of novels outlined. I have no time to write them with work pressing on me the way it is. I’ve considered speech recognition software but I hate listening to myself talk.

I don’t have any more novel ideas beyond this six or so. I don’t think that’s going to make a career.

I’ve finished reading the book about hooking readers. There’s actually a couple of lines in the book which reference writing the rest of the book well too. But they’re sort of afterthoughts, in my opinion. I don’t recommend the book.

Beside that, the book is really, really geared toward boot-lickers looking to get through the gatekeeper system. The largest chapter in the book (which I ignored with malice) was a bunch of agents and one editor who wanted to remain anonymous talking about how you can “hook” them and what not to do with your opening. (Of course, no two exactly the same.) That boot-lick section turned me off.

I’ve been learning about story questions and story goals lately, and I have to admit, I really like the concept. I like the idea of leaving the reader asking questions at the end of every scene, too. But where I get all freaked is in trying to determine if I can even do that or not. Can I pose a story-wide question the reader is dying to have answered in the climax? It’s something which sounds so easy…and when I think about practical ways to do it, I get overwhelmed. Then I freak and decide I’m lousy at this and get all discouraged. *Sigh*

I love outlining. Did I mention that?

Work

I really need to become a competent computer programmer. I’d like to have the luxury of learning a new language like C#, but that’s not going to happen. I can’t keep up. I have to stay with Visual Basic .NET because I don’t have the time to learn a new language.

I have to also learn SQL. Both the language (which I know a little bit about) and the relational database system, which is an entirely new thing for me. I’m supposed to become a database developer, I think. I wonder how long that’s going to take, and what that will cost? Hm.

I should be freaking out about losing my job, but I’m not. I don’t know why.

I have until January to improve my productivity. I should be scared of that based on the progress I’ve made since Friday. I’m not. I wonder why?

I ask a lot of rhetorical questions relative to my job. I wonder if anyone noticed?

Life

I’m supposed to have a life after work and writing? Gimme a break. How many hours in the day do you have?

Have a great day.

-jdt-

5 thoughts on “Things I Learned Last Weekend

  1. Oh my goodness – only SIX novels outlined? It’s definitely time to be worried about the looming doom of your writing career. 😉

    Heh. Well, it might seem silly now, but if each novel takes about six months to write, I’ve only got a three-year plan. That’s not a career.

    You’re not freaking out about work because God has graced you with a dose of faith. Enjoy it. 🙂

    I’ll try! …try.

    • I bet you $100 that within the next three years you’ll have *at least* six more novel ideas.

      Ooh, that’d be awesome! Do you think so? I hope so! And, I hope things are going GREAT for you too!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

