One Down…


Well. I finished one.

A little while back, my boss authorized some training for me. He let me pick the training, and he paid for it. While I was at it, I chose some different training for myself, which was way cheaper, and I paid for that one. So far, both have proven to be excellent resources.

Yesterday, I finished my first course. It was on ASP.NET. I took notes throughout, which helps me remember stuff. I stop the videos whenever I want, I re-watch whenever I want, and I basically get a good feel for what’s going on in each video. The downside is, I can’t ask any questions of the instructor to clarify confusing topics, which is why I bought one too. The hope was, the two would compliment each other.

It felt like a victory to get through one. I felt like celebrating. I watched and took notes and before I knew it, it was over. While I certainly don’t feel I’ve mastered the topic, I sure feel a whole lot closer to being competent. My one regret is, this cuts deep into my writing time. To the bone. Writing will have to be relegated to the back burner of weekends and between courses for now, while I desperately work to come up to speed and get my projects done.

So, a minor win for me. We’ll see how this goes from here forward.

Wish me luck!

-jdt-

One thought on “One Down…

  1. Ugh. I hate that feeling when work takes over your life. I hope you get some me-time soon.

    Thank you Spark. I know so many people who simply don’t care, their job IS their life, but I can’t live like this forever. I just can’t. I only got about four hours of sleep last night so I’m taking tonight off, and blast the consequences. 🙂 Hope things are going well for you at work, too.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

