Movin’ on Up


Well, with my priorities out of whack I talked my wife into getting new cell phones. It’s hard to believe we’ve already gone two years since we got them.

The new ones aren’t cheap. That money might have gone toward a new car – or fixing this one – but sometimes, you need to say “f**k it” and run off the pier.

I’ve been putting off getting really nice things because, well, maybe next year. Or maybe next time. Or maybe next month, or next week, or next life. And the fact of the matter is, I’m almost 2/3 of the way done with my life at this point. I have to live now. I can put things off until “we’re in a better position” until I finally die.

And I didn’t have to fight too hard with her. She wanted the phone. She was tired of the tiny storage and the poor performance of the ones we had. Don’t get me wrong, they were amazing for the time. SO much better than the ones we traded for them. But they were billed, and performed, as beginner Smartphones and we aren’t beginners two years into them now. So, we went out to price them.

And they were far more expensive than she’d been led to believe by the advertising on our carrier’s site. She thought we’d get two phones in a bundle, with accessories for both, at a fairly steep discount. So off to the cell phone store we went, only to find… no, not at all. That was for one phone with all the accessories (a car charger being the “accessories”).

She was crestfallen. We came home empty handed after she’d played with them, experienced them, and wanted them.

She surfed looking for something suitable to get instead. She couldn’t find anything she liked. I said, “Babe, I’m ready. Let’s do it. Let’s drop the nickel and get the ones we want for once.” There was a brief hiccup while she choked the idea down, then she made me promise it would be our Christmas, Anniversary and any other gift we could think of, and when I agree, we all but ran back to the store to buy them.

It took a long time. You’d think it was buying a car. But finally, we were handed our new phones.

And they.are.so.awesome.

We love ‘em. And sometimes, you have to play the way Tom Cruise did in Risky Business all those years ago, and say “f**k it.”

-jdt-

5 thoughts on “Movin’ on Up

  1. I am in the same situation. I am trying to decide between a new car and new cell phones. My current phone isn’t even a smartphone.

    I really need a new car. But since I never really have enough in hand to put down on one, I just blow it instead, and then I’m always sorry. Good luck!

  2. We just got new cell phones, too. It was on a lark. My husband was with me and my brother and mom who were visiting us in Texas for the first time. He lagged behind and hung around at the Verizon kiosk, and by the time we left the mall, we had new Motorola Razr Ms . . . our first Droid that was a heck of a lot cheaper than our two-year old Blackberries. I think if we discussed it, we would still be on the old phones. I’m glad you enjoy your phones!

    We do! Thanks, Berna! … now, if only we could whimsey a car…

  3. So what did you get? I was torn about upgrading from my Palm Pixi and after having the android for 6 months I can honestly say…I’d rather have my Pixi back. Sure, my new phone connects all things in my life, does things I don’t really understand and is all around awesome, but I HATEHATEHATE the virtual keyboard. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it.

    We got these BIG ‘uns, with almost 5″ screens, and they ROCK. We can even tap to share files and stuff… I mean, you know, once we figure out how.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

