“Masters” of Horror, Indeed


I’ve been cruising through some horror offerings lately, some written, some viewed. During my vacation, as I previously blogged, my beloved spouse indulged my horrific whims with movies and permissive blind-eyeing. So, one of the things I wanted to check out was an old series on Showtime (I think) called Masters of Horror.

MastersofhorrorIt aired back in 2005, and brought together 13 masters of the horror genre who directed a one-hour short film. I’ve seen two so far: Deer Woman and Sick Girl.

Either one is enough to turn me off the series for good.

John Landis did great with An American Werewolf in London, but his entry to the Masters of Horror episode was a disaster. It was boring, comical and not at all what I’d hoped. It did have a beautiful topless woman, though, and I have to say, even that couldn’t save it.

Sick Girl is a lesbian-commentary piece about being different for most of its run. At the end it actually becomes a predictable and laughable body-horror entry, and again, the topless shots (of a fairly mediocre-looking actress) didn’t help. In the end, it fell flat and was a bit ridiculous. Oh, and predictable.

Now, I don’t want to give up on this series just yet. The whole reason I started watching it in the first place was because of a discovery I made last month that a horror comic from the 1970s (I think) was the basis for one of the episodes. It’s called Jenifer, and from what I can see they stayed relatively true to the original story. It was only about ten pages long originally, so we’ll see how they choose to fill the space.

If that one is disappointing, I quit. On to something else. I’ve seen a lot of good movies and read some interesting stories, but you can’t win ‘em all.

If anyone’s seen Jenifer, no comment-spoilers please. Unless it’s really bad. Then please save me from myself.

Hope you all had a good weekend!

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

