Movie Review: Thrown for a Loop


My beloved wife and I sat down this weekend to catch a few movies. The cold front moved in and high winds and icy temperatures kept us pinned down, so we took to Vudu video service and dished up a few we thought we’d enjoy.

The one we picked for Friday night was Looper, starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Bruce Willis, with a side dish of Emily Blunt thrown in.

LooperLooper is a throw back movie. Oh, I know it’s sci-fi and future-set and all of that, but the fact is, this is an old fashioned noir movie. No gumshoe in a zoot suit, but plenty o’ guys gettin’ a trimmin’ from th’ boss. Smoky bars and nightclubs, dames and dopes galore.

In the future, time travel is only thirty years away. It’s outlawed, which means only outlaws time travel. To eradicate their enemies, people disappear in the future, materialize in the past, are assassinated by Loopers, and their bodies are disposed of. Clean. Simple. Untraceable. And when the assassin has worn out his usefulness, the mob “closes his loop” – which means he is kidnapped and sent to the past to be eradicated by … himself.

It’s a clever premise. And it’s well written, well acted and even though it suffers from some of the same problems any causality loop plot device brings with it, the movie is in many ways riveting. Since he left Third Rock from the Sun, I haven’t seen much out of Gordon-Levitt, but he does a decent job in this one. Willis I never appreciate, but my wife and I both felt a snide chuckle escape at certain times.

Think about it: What would you say to yourself thirty years in the past? If I could meet myself thirty years ago, I’d have so much to say. Problem is, I probably wouldn’t listen to myself. Not even to myself. And I wouldn’t much like me either. Heck, I don’t like me now.

So Looper has some moments of real charm, and is a story worth sitting through. Yes, it’s predictable. Yes, it misses and violates some of its own rules. But it was an entertaining ride, and wasn’t quite as dystopian as I initially thought.

Overall, I gave Looper four stars on Vudu’s rating service. It was really fun, and I’m glad I saw it. I’m also glad I only paid five bucks to see it.

Then again, that’s usually the case for me.

What did you do this weekend?

-jdt-

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Thrown for a Loop

  1. I took my mom clothes shopping. We spent 2 hours in a single store, with myself and a salesperson helping my mother to understand the concept of “if it fits, don’t worry about the size on the tag” and other basics. She also needed a lot of convincing to wear pants that had a waistline lower than her armpits, but as she was outnumbered two to one, fashion sense prevailed.

    Victory! Another fashion disaster averted. I’m glad you can get your mom on the good side, Spark, and I’m glad you had a good weekend. 🙂

  2. I liked it. Scratched that “time travel movie” itch I’ve had lately. A little. 🙂

    Well, I’m glad to hear that! And it was good, despite the problems. 🙂 Love watching with you anyway.

Hey, what's up? Tell me whatcha think!

